

Coastal Resources Advisory Council Background and Appointments

N.C. Coastal Resources Commission Meeting

February 26, 2014

Tancred Miller NC Division of Coastal Management



Background

- CRAC created by CAMA (1974)
- Originally a 45-member local-state advisory body for CRC rule & policy development
- Communications link between the CRC and local governments
- All 20 counties had a designated seat
- 8 coastal cities, 9 state agency, 4 planning, 3 science & technology, 1 local health director



Session Law 2013-360

- Vacated the membership effective July 31, 2013
- Reduced size to 20, all appointed by the CRC
- CRC may accept nominations from local governments
- No designated seats, but minimum 50% coastal residency requirement
- Initial terms expire June 30, 2015



Appointments

- CRC invited nominations from county and local governments, as well as Commission members, from November 2013 through January 2014
- The CRC Executive Committee met by conference call to review the nominees and make initial recommendations
- The CRC Executive Committee is recommending 10 initial appointments; additional nominations welcome
- The Executive Committee recommends revisiting the nominations process at a later date to fill the remaining seats on the CRAC



Recommendations: Northern Region

- Kristin Noble (Swan Quarter, Hyde County) Planner and Economic Development Director for Hyde County. Previously served on the CRAC.
- 2. Robert Outten (Kitty Hawk, Dare County) Dare County Manager and County Attorney.
- 3. Raymond Sturza (Kill Devil Hills, Dare County) Former mayor and planning director for Kill Devil Hills. Previously served on the CRAC.



Recommendations: Central Region

- 4. Jordan Hughes (Deep Run, Lenoir County) City Engineer for the City of New Bern.
- Charles Jones (Smyrna, Carteret County) Former Director at the Division of Coastal Management. Previously served on the CRAC.
- 6. Greg "Rudi" Rudolph (Emerald Isle, Carteret County) Carteret County's Shore Protection Manager.



Recommendations: Southern Region

- Bill Morrison (Topsail Beach, Pender County) Former member of Topsail Beach Planning Board. Previously served on the CRAC.
- 8. Spencer Rogers (Wilmington, New Hanover County) Coastal Construction and Erosion Specialist with NC Sea Grant. Member of CRC's Science Panel on Coastal Hazards. Previously served on the CRAC.



Recommendations: Southern Region

- Debbie Smith (Ocean Isle Beach, Brunswick County) Mayor of Ocean Isle Beach. Previously served on the CRAC.
- 10.Dave Weaver (Wilmington, New Hanover County) Serves on New Hanover County Planning Board. Previously served on the CRAC.