May 2019 AQC


April 18, 2019
TO: John D. Solomon, Chair
Charles Carter, Vice-Chair
Gerard P. Carroll
Marion Deerhake
Dr. Suzanne Lazorick
George H. Pettus
Julie Wilsey
Dr. Stan Meiburg, EMC Chair
FROM: Mike Abraczinskas, Director
Division of Air Quality

SUBJECT: May 2019 Air Quality Committee Meeting

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room on May 8, 2019. Please note that the meeting time is:
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        10:30 A.M. to 12:00 A.M.1

            1If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, the subsequently scheduled committee meeting may be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting is adjourned.

            Meeting audio and presentations will be broadcast via the state web conferencing link posted on the Environmental Management Commission website at
            Items marked with an asterisk (*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8447 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we can be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:
CALL TO ORDER (Chairman Solomon)
1.         General Statute § 138A-15 mandates that the Chairman inquire as to whether any member knows of any known conflict of interest or appearance of conflict with respect to matters before the Commission. If any member knows of a conflict of interest or appearance of a conflict, please so state at this time.
MINUTES (Chairman Solomon)
3.         None

6.<       Director’s Remarks (Mike Abraczinskas, DAQ)

7.*     1995-2019 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar

8.*     Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development

9.<     Next Regular Meeting July 10, 2019 (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Department of Environmental Quality web site at The website also has many other useful features.
Other EMC Members                                              
Michael S. Regan
John A. Nicholson                                       
Sheila Holman 
Sushma Masemore 
Brenda Menard
William Lane                                        
Asher Spiller                                                   
Mike Abraczinskas                                   
Michael Pjetraj
Randy Strait                                            
William Willets                       
Steve Hall
Patrick Butler                       
Joelle Burleson                          
Mark Cuilla              
Booker Pullen
Rahul Thaker                            
Brian Phillips
Patrick Knowlson
Vladimir Zaytsev
Gary Saunders
Brad Nelson
Rahat Ashique
Lois Thomas
Phillip Reynolds
Sandy Mort
Robin Barrows
Local Programs
Regional DAQ Supervisors