January 13, 2016 AQC

January 2016 Air Quality Committee Meeting
January 12, 2016


Charles Carter, Chair
Gerard Carroll
Dr. Lawrence Raymond
E. O. Ferrell
Julie Wilsey
Steven Rowlan
John D. Solomon


Sheila Holman, Director
Division of Air Quality


January 2016 Air Quality Committee Meeting

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. on January 13, 2016. Please note that the meeting time is

3:00 P.M.*

* If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, subsequently scheduled committee meeting may be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting has adjourned.

Meeting audio and presentations will be broadcast via the state web conferencing link posted on the Environmental Management Commission website

Items marked with an asterisk (*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at 919-707-8430 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we may be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

CALL TO ORDER (Charles Carter)

  1.  Call to Order and The State Government Ethics Act, N.C.G.S § 138A-15(e)

MINUTES (Charles Carter)

      2.1  Review and Approval of September Meeting Minutes

      2.2  Review and Approval of November Meeting Minutes


  1.  Summary of Public Comment Process for Section 15A NCAC 02D .2700 (111d)


  1.  Revision to Ambient Air Quality Standards to Incorporate 2015 Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) (534) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)

  1.  Startup, Shutdown, Malfunction (SSM) State Implementation Plan (SIP) Call Rule Revisions / Presentation (533) (Michael Pjetraj, DAQ)


  1.  Repeal of 15A NCAC 02D .1010 Heavy-Duty Vehicle Idling Restrictions (535) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)

  1.  [Item 7 has been removed from the agenda]  Request for Approval of Fiscal Note on Revisions to Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) Rules in 15A NCAC 02D .0902 (532) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)


  1.  Request for Approval of Hearing Officer's Report on and Adoption of Streamlining of Permit Exemptions Rule 15A NCAC 02Q .0102 and Related Rules Revisions (525) (Patrick Knowlson, DAQ)

  1. [Item 9 has been removed from the agenda]  Request for Waiver of 30-day Rule on Approval of Fiscal Note and Request for Approval to Proceed to Hearing on Revisions to Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) Rules in 15A NCAC 02D .0902 (532) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)


  1. < Director's Remarks (Sheila Holman, DAQ)

    1. Transport Update
    2. Periodic Review of Rules Report Update
    3. Special February EMC Meeting
  1. 1995-2016 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar

  1. Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development

  1. < Next Regular Meeting March 9, 2016 (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Air Quality web site Public Notices. This web site also has many other useful features.

CC: Other EMC Members
Jennie Hauser
Amy Bircher
Don van der Vaart
Tom Reeder
Sam M. Hayes
Lois Thomas
Sheila Holman
Tom Mather
Mike Abraczinskas
John Evans
William Willets
Lee Daniel
Michael Pjetraj
Lori Cherry
Gary Saunders
Brian Phillips
Donnie Redmond
Sushma Masemore
Joelle Burleson
Glenn Sappie
Booker Pullen
Vladimir Zaytsev
Patrick Knowlson
Steve Schliesser
Robin Barrows
Candace Prusiewicz
Randy Strait
Regional DAQ Supervisors
Local Programs
Mark Cuilla