January 2012 AQC

December 21, 2011



Marion Deerhake, Chair
Chris Ayers
Marvin Cavanaugh
Thomas F. Cecich
Les Hall
Dr. Ernest W. Larkin
Jeff Morse
Darryl D. Moss
Dr. David B. Peden
Stephen Smith



Sheila Holman


January 2012, Air Quality Committee Meeting


The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 2:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. on January 11, 2012. Please note that the meeting time is

2:30 P.M.*

* If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, subsequently scheduled committee meeting may be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting has adjourned.

Items marked with an asterisk (*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8430 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we may be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

CALL TO ORDER (Marion Deerhake)

  1.  Call to Order and The State Government Ethics Act, N.C.G.S. § 138A-15(e)[PDF]

MINUTES (Marion Deerhake)

  1.  Review and Approval of November Meeting Minutes[PDF]

CONCEPTS (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)

  1.  Revisions to New Source Review (NSR) and Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) Nitrogen Oxides (NOx) Significance Level for PM2.5 (512)[PDF]

  1.  Revision of Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) Reasonably Available Control Technology (RACT) Rules Applicability (513)[PDF]


  1.  Request for Adoption of Amendments to Open Burning Rules to Incorporate Session Law 2011-394 Requirements (507) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)[PDF] [PDF]


  1. < Request for Adoption of Amendments to Open Burning Rules to Incorporate Session Law 2011-394 Requirements (507) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)


  1. < Update on Implementation of Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) (Laura Boothe, DAQ) [Ozone Update]

  1. < Update on Air Quality Modeling Results for Mercury Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) (Laura Boothe, DAQ) [Mercury Update]

  1. < Director's Remarks (Sheila Holman, DAQ)

  1. * 1995-2012 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar [PDF]

  1. * Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development[PDF]

  1. *< Next Meeting March 7, 2012, (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Air Quality web site Public Notices. This web site also has many other useful features.

CC: Other EMC Members
Frank Crawley
Allen Jernigan
Dee Freeman
Robin Smith
Mary Penny Thompson
Diana Kees
Lois Thomas
Sheila Holman
Tom Mather
Don van der Vaart
Jim Roller
William Willets
John Evans
Lee Daniel
Lori Cherry
Gary Saunders
Michael Pjetraj
Brian Phillips
Donnie Redmond
Mike Abraczinskas
Laura Boothe
Joelle Burleson
Glenn Sappie
Vladimir Zaytsev
Patrick Knowlson
Reginald Jordan
Sushma Masmore
Regional DAQ Supervisors
Local Programs