January 2015 AQC

January 2015 Air Quality Committee Meeting
December 17, 2014


Charles Carter, Chair
Gerard Carroll
Dr. Lawrence Raymond
E. O. Ferrell
Benne Hutson
Julie Wilsey


Sheila Holman, Director
Division of Air Quality


January 2015 Air Quality Committee Meeting

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. on January 7, 2015. Please note that the meeting time is

3:00 P.M.*

* If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, subsequently scheduled committee meeting may be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting has adjourned.

Items marked with an asterisk (*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at 919-707-8430 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we may be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

CALL TO ORDER (Charles Carter)

  1.  Call to Order and The State Government Ethics Act, N.C.G.S § 138A-15(e)

MINUTES (Charles Carter)

  1.  Review and Approval of November Meeting Summary






  1.  Request for Approval to Proceed to Public Comment on S.L. 2013-413 (H74) Periodic Review of Rules Report for 15A NCAC 02D and 02Q (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)




  1.  Ozone Standard Update (Donnie Redmond, DAQ)

  1.  Local Air Quality Programs Overview

    1. Western North Carolina Regional Air Quality Agency (David Brigman, Director)
    2. Mecklenburg County Air Quality (Leslie Rhodes, Director)
    3. Forsyth County Office of Environmental Assistance and Protection (Minor Barnette, Director)
  1. < Director's Remarks (Sheila Holman, DAQ)

    1. Section 111(d) Proposed Guideline
    2. Cross State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) Update
    3. Vehicle Emissions Inspection/Maintenance (I/M) Program Three Year Exemption Update
    4. Sulfur Dioxide (SO2) Designations Update
    5. Charlotte Redesignation Request Process
    6. Update on Air Related Mining and Energy Commission (MEC) Actions
  1. 1995-2014 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar

  1. Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development

  1. < Next Meeting March 11, 2015 (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Air Quality web site Public Notices. This web site also has many other useful features.

CC: Other EMC Members
Jennie Hauser
Amy Bircher
John Skvarla
Mitch Gillespie
Lacy Presnell
Lois Thomas
Sheila Holman
Tom Mather
Mike Abraczinskas
John Evans
William Willets
Lee Daniel
Michael Pjetraj
Lori Cherry
Gary Saunders
Brian Phillips
Donnie Redmond
Sushma Masemore
Joelle Burleson
Glenn Sappie
Booker Pullen
Vladimir Zaytsev
Patrick Knowlson
Steve Schliesser
Robin Barrows
Candace Prusiewicz
Nancy Jones
Randy Strait
Regional DAQ Supervisors
Local Programs
Mark Cuilla