July 2015 AQC

July 2015 Air Quality Committee Meeting
June 19, 2015

Charles Carter, Chair
Gerard Carroll
Dr. Lawrence Raymond
E. O. Ferrell
Julie Wilsey

Sheila Holman, Director
Division of Air Quality


July 2015 Air Quality Committee Meeting

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. on July 8, 2015. Please note that the meeting time is

10:30 A.M.*

* If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, subsequently scheduled committee meeting may be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting has adjourned.

Meeting audio and presentations will be broadcast via the state web conferencing link posted on the Environmental Management Commission website

Items marked with an asterisk (*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at 919-707-8430 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we may be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

CALL TO ORDER (Charles Carter)

  1.  Call to Order and The State Government Ethics Act, N.C.G.S § 138A-15(e)

MINUTES (Charles Carter)

  1.  Review and Approval of May Meeting Summary


  1.  Clean Air Act Section 111(d) Emissions Guidelines for Greenhouse Gas Emissions from Existing Electric Generating Units (EGUs) (531) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)

  1.  Revisions to Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) Rules (532) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)


  1.   Streamlining of Permit Exemptions Rule (525)  Presentation (Patrick Knowlson, DAQ). Agenda Item A has been added to the agenda on June 26, 2015


  1. Hearing Officer's Report on Permanent Amendments to Clarify Applicability of Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) Rule for Greenhouse Gases and Title V Applicability Rule (528) (Ray Stewart, DAQ)

  1. Hearing Officer's Report on Revisions to Reflect S.L. 2014-120 Repeal of Source Reduction and Recycling Reporting Requirement (530) (Ray Stewart, DAQ)

  1. Hearing Officer's Report on Revision to Ambient Standard for Particulate Matter (PM2.5) (524) (Ray Stewart, DAQ)


  1.  Status of S.L. 2013-413 Periodic Review of Rules Report for 15A NCAC 02D and 02Q (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)

    Please note: In light of the June 29, 2015 Supreme Court decision in MICHIGAN ET AL. v. ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY ET AL remanding the Mercury and Air Toxics Standards (MATS) rule to the D.C Circuit, the proposed classification of the Section 15A NCAC 02D .2500 rules as "unnecessary" is being reconsidered.

    1. Presentation
    2. 15A NCAC 02D Report
    3. 15A NCAC 02D Comments and Response
    4. 15A NCAC 02D Comment Compilation
    5. 15A NCAC 02Q Report
    6. 15A NCAC 02Q Comments and Response
    7. 15A NCAC 02Q Comment Compilation
  1. < Startup, Shutdown, and Malfunction (SSM) State Implementation Plan (SIP) Call Update

  1.  Results of DAQ Study on Emissions from Gas Activities (Sushma Masemore and Mike Abraczinskas, DAQ)

  1. < Director's Remarks (Sheila Holman, DAQ)

    1. Charlotte Redesignation Request Process
  1. 1995-2015 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar

  1. Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development

  1. < Next Meeting September 9, 2015 (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Air Quality web site Public Notices. This web site also has many other useful features.

CC: Other EMC Members
Jennie Hauser
Amy Bircher
Don van der Vaart
Tom Reeder
Sam M. Hayes
Lois Thomas
Sheila Holman
Tom Mather
Mike Abraczinskas
John Evans
William Willets
Lee Daniel
Michael Pjetraj
Lori Cherry
Gary Saunders
Brian Phillips
Donnie Redmond
Sushma Masemore
Joelle Burleson
Glenn Sappie
Booker Pullen
Vladimir Zaytsev
Patrick Knowlson
Steve Schliesser
Robin Barrows
Candace Prusiewicz
Nancy Jones
Randy Strait
Regional DAQ Supervisors
Local Programs
Mark Cuilla
James Holloway