July 2016 AQC

June 7, 2016




TO:                  Charles Carter, Chair
                 Gerard Carroll
                 Dr. Lawrence Raymond
                 E. O. Ferrell
                 Steven Rowlan
                 Steve Tedder
                 John D. Solomon
                 Clyde E. Smith, Jr.


FROM:                Sheila Holman, Director
                         Division of Air Quality


SUBJECT:          July 2016 Air Quality Committee Meeting


The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 3:30-5:00 p.m. on July 13, 2016.  Please note that the meeting time is

3:30 P.M.1

                1If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, the subsequently scheduled committee meeting may be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting is adjourned.

            Meeting audio and presentations will be broadcast via the state web conferencing link posted on the Environmental Management Commission website at https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-resources-commissions/environmental-management-commission.

            Items marked with an asterisk (*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8430 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we can be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

CALL TO ORDER (Charles Carter)

1.         Call to Order and the State Government Ethics Act, N.C.G.S. § 138A-15(e)

MINUTES (Charles Carter)

2.         Review and Approval of May Meeting Minutes



DRAFT RULES (Action Items)



           (Patrick Knowlson, DAQ)


4.         Upcoming Rules and H74 Readoption Process (Michael Abraczinskas, DAQ)

5.         Update on Sulfur Dioxide (SO2) Data Requirements Rule Implementation (Donnie Redmond, DAQ)

6.         2015 Ozone Standard Update - Data Evaluation and Upcoming Designation Process (Donnie Redmond, DAQ)

7.         Interstate Transport Analysis for Ozone (Sushma Masemore, DAQ)

8.<       Director’s Remarks (Sheila Holman, DAQ)

9.*       1995-2016 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar

10.*     Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development

11.<     Next Regular Meeting September 7, 2016 (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Environmental Quality web site at http://deq.nc.gov/news/events. The web site also has many other useful features.



Other EMC Members 
Jennie Hauser
Amy Bircher
Don van der Vaart
Tom Reeder
Sam M. Hayes
Lois Thomas
Sheila Holman
Tom Mather
Mike Abraczinskas
John Evans
William Willets
Lee Daniel
Michael Pjetraj
Lori Cherry
Gary Saunders
Brian Phillips
Donnie Redmond
Sushma Masemore
Joelle Burleson
Glenn Sappie
Booker Pullen
Vladimir Zaytsev
Patrick Knowlson
Robin Barrows
Randy Strait
Regional DAQ Supervisors
Local Programs
Mark Cuilla