March 2013 AQC

March 1, 2013



Marion Deerhake, Chair
Chris Ayers
Marvin Cavanaugh
Yvonne Bailey
Les Hall
Dr. Ernest W. Larkin
Jeff Morse
Darryl D. Moss
Amy Pickle
Dr. David B. Peden
Stephen Smith



Sheila Holman


March 2013 Air Quality Committee Meeting


The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. on March 13, 2013. Please note that the meeting time is

3:00 P.M.*

* If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, subsequently scheduled committee meeting may be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting has adjourned.

The Air Quality Committee meeting audio and presentations are also broadcast as a webinar for those who cannot attend in person. To join the meeting, go to and log in using your North Carolina Identity Management (NCID) and password or if you do not have an NCID, enter as a guest.


Items marked with an asterisk (*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8430 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we may be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

CALL TO ORDER (Marion Deerhake)

  1.  Call to Order and The State Government Ethics Act, N.C.G.S. § 138A-15(e)[PDF]

MINUTES (Marion Deerhake)

  1.  Review and Approval of January Meeting Minutes[PDF]






  1. * Hearing Officer's Report on Clarification of 02Q .0102 Permitting Exemption (509)Benne Hutson [PDF]

  1.  Hearing Officer's Report on Revision of Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) Reasonably Available Control Technology (RACT) Rules applicability (513) and Clarifications (511), Benne Hutson [PDF]

  1.  Hearing Officer's Report on Revisions to New Source Review and Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) Nitrogen Oxides (NOx) Significance Level for PM2.5 (512) and PM2.5 Increment (516)[PDF]

  1.  Request to Proceed to Hearing on Revision of Arsenic Acceptable Ambient Level (AAL) (514), (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)[PDF]


  1. < Update on Hydraulic Fracturing (Mike Abraczinskas, DAQ)[PPT]
    1. Plan for Baseline Ambient Air Monitoring near Potential Hydraulic Fracturing Zones
    2. Information on Air Quality Permitting of Hydraulic Fracturing Operations


  1. < Director's Remarks (Sheila Holman, DAQ)
  1. * 1995-2013 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar [PDF]

  1. * Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development[PDF]

  1. *< Next Meeting May 8, 2013, (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Air Quality web site Public Notices. This web site also has many other useful features.

CC: Other EMC Members
Frank Crawley
Allen Jernigan
John Skvarla
Mitch Gillespie
Mary Penny Thompson
Lacy Presnell
Lois Thomas
Sheila Holman
Tom Mather
Don van der Vaart
William Willets
John Evans
Lee Daniel
Lori Cherry
Gary Saunders
Michael Pjetraj
Brian Phillips
Donnie Redmond
Mike Abraczinskas
Sushma Masemore
Joelle Burleson
Glenn Sappie
Vladimir Zaytsev
Patrick Knowlson
Steve Schliesser
Robin Barrows
Regional DAQ Supervisors
Local Programs