May 2012 AQC

April 27, 2012



Marion Deerhake, Chair
Chris Ayers
Marvin Cavanaugh
Thomas F. Cecich
Les Hall
Dr. Ernest W. Larkin
Jeff Morse
Amy Pickle
Darryl D. Moss
Dr. David B. Peden
Stephen Smith



Sheila Holman


May 2012 Air Quality Committee Meeting


The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. on May 9, 2012. Please note that the meeting time is

10:00 A.M.*

* If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, subsequently scheduled committee meeting may be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting has adjourned.

Items marked with an asterisk (*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8430 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we may be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

CALL TO ORDER (Marion Deerhake)

  1.  Call to Order and The State Government Ethics Act, N.C.G.S. § 138A-15(e)[PDF]

MINUTES (Marion Deerhake)

  1.  Review and Approval of March Meeting Minutes

CONCEPTS (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)

  1.  Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste Incinerator (CISWI) rule revisions (508) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ) [PDF]




  1. * Hearing Officer's Report on Permanent Rule Amendment to Defer Carbon Dioxide Emissions from Biomass from Prevention of Significant Deterioration Requirements (496) (Chris Ayers)[PDF]

  1. * Request to Proceed to Hearing on Clarification of 2Q .0102 Permitting Exemption (509) (Patrick Knowlson, DAQ) [PDF]


  1.  Overview of Utility Mercury and Air Toxics Standards (Steve Schliesser, DAQ) [PDF]

  1.  Inspection and Maintenance Study Report (Laura Boothe, DAQ)

  1.  Overview of Transportation Conformity (Heather Hildebrandt, DAQ) [PPT]

  1. < Director's Remarks (Mike Abraczinskas, DAQ)

  1. * 1995-2013 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar [PDF]

  1. * Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development [PDF]

  1. *< Next Meeting July 11, 2012, (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Air Quality web site Public Notices. This web site also has many other useful features.

CC: Other EMC Members
Frank Crawley
Allen Jernigan
Dee Freeman
Robin Smith
Mary Penny Thompson
William Cary
Diana Kees
Lois Thomas
Sheila Holman
Tom Mather
Don van der Vaart
Jim Roller
William Willets
John Evans
Lee Daniel
Lori Cherry
Gary Saunders
Michael Pjetraj
Brian Phillips
Donnie Redmond
Mike Abraczinskas
Laura Boothe
Joelle Burleson
Glenn Sappie
Vladimir Zaytsev
Patrick Knowlson
Reginald Jordan
Sushma Masmore
Regional DAQ Supervisors
Local Programs