May 2014 AQC

May 2014 Air Quality Committee Meeting
April 30, 2014


Charles Carter, Chair
Gerard Carroll
Thomas Craven
E. O. Ferrell
Benne Hutson
Julie Wilsey


Sheila Holman, Director
Division of Air Quality


May 2014 Air Quality Committee Meeting

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 11:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. on May 7, 2014. Please note that the meeting time is

11:00 A.M.*

* If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, subsequently scheduled committee meeting may be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting has adjourned.

Items marked with an asterisk (*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at 919-707-8430 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we may be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

CALL TO ORDER (Charles Carter)

  1.  Call to Order and The State Government Ethics Act, N.C.G.S. § 138A-15(e)


  1. Overview of the Clean Air Act, National Ambient Air Quality Standards and the Air Planning Process / (.ppt) (Sushma Masemore, DAQ)

  1. Overview of Ambient Air Monitoring (.pptx) (Donnie Redmond, DAQ)

  1. Overview of Air Permitting (.ppt) (William Willets, DAQ)

  1. Overview of Air Quality Compliance and Enforcement (.pptx) (Lee Daniel, DAQ)

  1. < Director's Remarks (Sheila Holman, DAQ)

  1. *< Next Meeting July 9, 2014 (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Air Quality web site Public Notices. This web site also has many other useful features.

CC: Other EMC Members
Jennie Hauser
Amy Bircher
John Skvarla
Mitch Gillespie
Lacy Presnell
Lois Thomas
Sheila Holman
Tom Mather
Mike Abraczinskas
Mark Cuilla
William Willets
Lee Daniel
Michael Pjetraj
Lori Cherry
Gary Saunders
Brian Phillips
Donnie Redmond
Sushma Masemore
Joelle Burleson
Glenn Sappie
Vladimir Zaytsev
Patrick Knowlson
Steve Schliesser
Robin Barrows
Candace Prusiewicz
Nancy Jones
Regional DAQ Supervisors
Local Programs
Mary Lucasse