November 2013 AQC

October 23, 2013



Charles Carter, Chair
Gerard Carroll
Thomas Craven
E. O. Ferrell
Benne Hutson
Julie Wilsey



Sheila Holman


November 2013 Air Quality Committee Meeting


The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 3:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. on November 13, 2013. Please note that the meeting time is

3:30 P.M.*

* If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, subsequently scheduled committee meeting may be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting has adjourned.

The Air Quality Committee meeting audio and presentations are also broadcast as a webinar for those who cannot attend in person. To join the meeting, go to and log in using your North Carolina Identity Management (NCID) and password or if you do not have an NCID, enter as a guest.


Items marked with an asterisk (*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8430 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we may be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

CALL TO ORDER (Charles Carter)

  1.  Call to Order and The State Government Ethics Act, N.C.G.S. § 138A-15(e)[PDF]

MINUTES (Charles Carter)

  1.  Review and Approval of July Meeting Minutes[PDF]


  1.  Revisions to Open Burning Rules to Reflect S.L. 2013-413 (521) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ) [PDF]

  1.  Revise Permit Term to Reflect S.L. 2013-413 (522) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ) [PDF]

  1.  Repeal of Transportation Facilities Permitting Rules (523) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ) [PDF]




  1.  Hearing Officer's Report on Revision of Arsenic Acceptable Ambient Level (AAL) (514) (Donnie Redmond, DAQ) [PDF] [PDF] [PPTX]

  1.  Hearing Officer's Report on Inspection/Maintenance (IM) Rules Revision (517) (Steven Vozzo, DAQ) [PDF] [PDF] [PPTX]

  1.  Request for Approval of Emissions Reductions Beyond Clean Smokestacks Act 2013 Report (Sushma Masemore, DAQ) – Action Item [PDF] [PDF] [PPTX]

  1. * Shale Gas Development and Air Quality (Mike Abraczinskas, DAQ)  [PPT]


  1. < Update on Air Toxics Rule Revisions (Patrick Knowlson, DAQ)

  1. * Air Quality Acronym List [PDF]

  1. < Director's Remarks (Sheila Holman, DAQ)
    1. Sulfur Dioxide (SO2) National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) Designations/Process Update
    2. Metrolina 1997 8-hour Ozone Nonattainment Area Redesignation Request Status
    3. 2013 Ozone Season Update
    4. Recommendations for North Carolina's PM2.5 Boundaries
    5. Air Quality Orientation Topics


  1. * 1995-2014 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar [PDF]

  1. * Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development [PDF]

  1. *< Next Meeting January 9, 2014, (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Air Quality web site Public Notices. This web site also has many other useful features.

CC: Other EMC Members
Jennie Hauser
Amy Bircher
John Skvarla
Mitch Gillespie
Lacy Presnell
Lois Thomas
Sheila Holman
Tom Mather
Mike Abraczinskas
Don van der Vaart
William Willets
John Evans
Lee Daniel
Michael Pjetraj
Lori Cherry
Gary Saunders
Brian Phillips
Donnie Redmond
Sushma Masemore
Joelle Burleson
Glenn Sappie
Vladimir Zaytsev
Patrick Knowlson
Steve Schliesser
Robin Barrows
Candace Prusiewicz
Regional DAQ Supervisors
Local Programs