September 2016 AQC


August 17, 2016
TO:                         Charles Carter, Chair
                        Gerard Carroll
                        Dr. Lawrence Raymond
                        E. O. Ferrell
                        Steven Rowlan
                        Steve Tedder
                        John D. Solomon
                        Clyde E. Smith, Jr.


FROM:               Sheila Holman, Director
                        Division of Air Quality
SUBJECT:          September 2016 Air Quality Committee Meeting
The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 3:30-5:00 p.m. on September 7, 2016.  Please note that the meeting time is

3:30 P.M.1

                1If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, the subsequently scheduled committee meeting may be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting is adjourned.

            Meeting audio and presentations will be broadcast via the state web conferencing link posted on the Environmental Management Commission website at
            Items marked with an asterisk (*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8430 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we can be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

CALL TO ORDER (Charles Carter)

1.         General Statute § 138A-15 mandates that the Chairman inquire as to whether any member knows of any known conflict of interest or appearance of conflict with respect to matters before the Commission. If any member knows of a conflict of interest or appearance of a conflict, please so state at this time.

MINUTES (Charles Carter)
2.         Review and Approval of July Meeting Minutes
DRAFT RULES (Action Items)
3.         Hearing Officer's Report on Startup, Shutdown and Malfunction (SSM) State Implementation Plan (SIP) Call Rule Revisions (533) (Michael Pjetraj, DAQ/ Charlie Carter, EMC/E.O. Ferrell, EMC) / Presentation (Michael Pjetraj)
6.<       Update on Revisions to Address Sewage Sludge Incinerator (SSI) Emissions Guidelines Federal Plan (497a) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)
7.<       Director’s Remarks (Sheila Holman, DAQ)
10.<     Next Regular Meeting November 9, 2016 (time to be determined)
Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Environmental Quality web site at The web site also has many other useful features.
Other EMC Members                                              
Jennie Hauser                                      
Amy Bircher                                       
Don van der Vaart                              
Tom Reeder                                        
Sam M. Hayes                                      
Lois Thomas                                                  
Sheila Holman                                    
Tom Mather                                          
Mike Abraczinskas                                                 
John Evans

William Willets                       
Michael Pjetraj                        
Lori Cherry                           
Gary Saunders                        
Brian Phillips                          
Sushma Masemore                 
Joelle Burleson                       
Glenn Sappie              
Booker Pullen            
Vladimir Zaytsev                               
Patrick Knowlson          

Robin Barrows
Randy Strait
Regional DAQ Supervisors
Local Programs
Mark Cuilla