Science Advisory Board - Archives

The Secretary's Science Advisory Board on Toxic Air Pollutants (NCSAB) is chartered by the Secretary of the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ; formerly the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, or DENR). The board's primary responsibility is to assess the potential human health effects associated with North Carolina toxic air pollutants and recommend a range of acceptable ambient levels (AALs) likely to safeguard against adverse health effects.

The NCSAB is composed of eight members, appointed to four-year terms, having expertise in the following disciplines:

Air pollutants evaluated by the NCSAB are identified through several mechanisms including:

The NCSAB also may conduct site-specific risk assessments, assess health risks due to exposure to chemical mixtures, and consider multi-media effects on exposure or other specific topics of importance to DEQ. The NCSAB uses scientific risk assessment methods and standard practices in deriving AALs for toxic air pollutants emitted in North Carolina. The board utilizes current, relevant, peer-reviewed toxicological literature and presentations prepared by expert scientists as the basis for all assessments.

The Division of Air Quality (DAQ) manages and coordinates the chemical evaluations and risk assessments conducted by the NCSAB. A list of chemicals to be evaluated is generated and prioritized by DAQ on a yearly basis through a combined assessment of emission levels, toxicological properties and potential human exposures.

The NCSAB generally meets bimonthly. NCSAB meetings are open to the public and participation by interested groups is encouraged. Logistical support for NCSAB meetings is provided by DAQ.

SAB Meetings

Agenda for Upcoming NCSAB Meeting

NCSAB Meeting Minutes

2016 NCSAB Meeting Schedule

2015 Chemical Prioritization List

SAB Supporting Documents

Acceptable Ambient Levels (AALs)

NCSAB AAL Recommendations

NCSAB Practices and Policies

NCSAB Risk Assessment Guidelines

NC TAP Chemicals (Supporting AAL documents)

Science Advisory Board Charter


Randy Strait
Planning Section Chief