## N.C. Oil and Gas Commission

## Minutes of the Tuesday, 06 August 2024 Meeting\*

The meeting of the Oil and Gas Commission took place at 1:00 P.M. on 06 August 2024 in the 5<sup>th</sup> Floor Conference Room of the Archdale Bldg. at 512 N. Salisbury St. in Raleigh, hosted by the North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ). Attendance of the meeting was also available via Webex videoconferencing service.

00:00:37 – **Chair James C. Lister** opened the meeting with a moment of silence and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

00:01:45 – Chair Lister read the Elections and Ethics Enforcement Act to the Commission and asked for concerns of potential conflict. None were given.

00:02:30 – Staff conducted a roll-call attendance. NCGS Senior Geologist, Jim Chapman conducted a roll-call vote. Commissioner Rebecca Wyhof Salmon (remote), Chair Lister (remote), Commissioner John Droz, Jr. (remote), Commissioner Karen A. Howard (remote), Commissioner J. Cody Edwards (remote), Vice-Chair John Lucey (remote), Commissioner John D. White II (remote), Commissioner Stanford D. Baird (remote), and Commissioner Dr. William Vizuete (absent). Eight of nine members of the Commission were present, and a quorum was declared.

00:04:13 – **DOJ Assistant Attorney General, Sarah Zambon** moved the discussion to the topic of the election of new Commission officers. Commissioner Baird nominated Commissioner Lucey for Chair. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Salmon. After a roll-call vote, the motion carried unanimously. Chair Lucey nominated Commissioner Lister for Vice-Chair, seconded by Commissioner Howard. After a roll-call vote, the motion carried unanimously.

00:4:33 – Chair Lucey moved the Commission to the approval of the amended first quarter 2024 meeting minutes. Commissioner Salmon made a motion to approve the minutes, seconded by Commissioner Droz. Jim Chapman conducted a roll-call vote. The Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes. Chair Lucey asked for a motion to approve the second quarter 2024 meeting minutes. Commissioner Droz made a motion to approve the second quarter meeting minutes, seconded by Commissioner Howard.

00:06:08 – Chair Lucey moved the meeting to a synopsis of the meeting held by the Rules Review Committee, held on 29 July 2024.

00:16:37 – Chair Lucey moved the meeting to inquiries made to the DEQ regarding oil and gas. **State Geologist, Dr. Kenneth B. Taylor** stated that there had been one inquiry regarding the two non-producing wells (Butler #3 and Simpson #1).

00:23:44 – Chair Lucey moved the discussion to public comments and Commissioners' concluding remarks. There were no public comments. Many Commissioners extended appreciation to Commissioner Lister for serving as Chair for the past two years.

<sup>\*</sup>These minutes remain in draft form until approved by the Commission.

Audio and/or video recording of all Oil and Gas Commission meetings are posted on the OGC website.

00:29:50 - Chair Lucey adjourned the meeting.



<sup>\*</sup>These minutes remain in draft form until approved by the Commission.

Audio and/or video recording of all Oil and Gas Commission meetings are posted on the OGC website.