Marine Fisheries Fish Dealer License

What Activities Require This License? The license authorizes a North Carolina resident entity (individual or business) within North Carolina to buy fish for resale from any person who holds a valid commercial fishing license. Fishermen who sell their own harvested catch to the public are required to have a Fish Dealer License. The dealer can only deal in each category designated on the license, example: finfish, crab, etc.

What Is The Purpose of This License? To license and identify individuals and businesses purchasing fish or shellfish from licensed fishermen. Licensed Fish Dealers are required to report all transactions on trip tickets and supply these to the Division of Marine Fisheries (DMF) monthly.

Who Issues This License? NC Division of Marine Fisheries, License and Statistics Section.

How Much Will This License Cost?

- \$100 oysters
- \$100 clams
- \$100 scallops
- \$100 hard or soft crabs
- \$100 shrimp
- \$100 finfish
- \$600 consolidated dealer license
- \$100 new fish dealer application fee
- \$10 replacement fee

What Are My Payment Options for License Application Fees? Check, cash, or credit card.

If Paying by Check, Who do I Make the Check Payable to and Where Do I Send the Check? If applying inperson for a license at any NCDMF Office, the application and check, cash, or credit card are submitted at the time of purchase. If renewing a license by mail the applicant must submit the application and check to the NCDMF, License Office, PO Box 769, Morehead City, NC 28557. Please make all checks payable to NCDMF.

Where Can I Get The Application For This License? Contact any N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries license office. Visit the following link for license sales locations: <u>https://www.deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries/about-division-marine-fisheries-offices</u>.

How Long Will It Take To Review My Application? No review required for this license.

Where Do I Submit My Application? N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries, License Office, 3441 Arendell St., PO Box 769, Morehead City, NC 28557, or at any DMF license office. Visit the following link for license sales contact information: <u>https://www.deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries/about-division-marine-fisheries/division-marine-fisheries-offices</u>.

How Long Is My License Valid? Licenses are valid for up to one year and expire on June 30th.

Notes/Comments: This license is non-transferable and non-assignable. Any North Carolina resident or business registered with the NC Secretary of State may obtain this license for locations within North Carolina. Nonresidents or out of state businesses are not eligible for this license.

Legal Authority/Statute Reference: General Statute 113-169.3, NC Fisheries Rules for Coastal Waters 15A NCAC 30.0101(a).

Link: http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries

NC DEQ Permit Directory

Marine Fisheries Fish Dealer License

Continued

Statewide Contact Information:

NC Division of Marine Fisheries License and Statistics Section 3441 Arendell Street Morehead City, NC 28557 Telephone: 252-515-5500 or 1-800-682-2632

Updated 12/2024