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Marine Fisheries 
Shellfish License for North Carolina Residents Without a Standard 
Commercial Fishing License (SCFL) 
 
What Activities Require This Permit? The Shellfish License for North Carolina residents without a Standard 
Commercial Fishing License (SCFL) allows the commercial harvest and sale of shellfish, such as clams, oysters, mussels, 
conchs, whelks and scallops. The shellfish license holder does not need a SCFL or Retired Standard Commercial Fishing 
License (RSCFL) to harvest and sell commercial quantities of shellfish.   
 
What Is The Purpose of This Permit? To license and identify North Carolina resident commercial fishermen who wish 
to harvest commercial quantities of shellfish. Another purpose is to provide for a lower cost license for shellfish harvesting 
than the SCFL. 
 
Who Issues This Permit? N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries (DMF), License and Statistics Section. 
  
How Much Will This Permit Cost? $50 for residents; nonresidents are not eligible for this license. $10 replacement fee 
 
What Are My Payment Options for Permit Application Fees? Check or cash 
 
If Paying by Check, Who do I Make the Check Payable to and Where Do I Send the Check? If applying in-
person for a permit or license at a NC DMF Field Office, the application and check or cash are submitted at the time of 
purchase. If renewing a permit or license by mail the applicant must submit the application and check to the NCDMF, 
License Office, PO Box 769, Morehead City, NC 28557. Please make all checks payable to NCDMF.   
 
 Where Can I Get The Application For This Permit? Contact any N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries license office. Visit 
the following link for license sales locations: http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/mf/dmf-offices. 
 
How Long Will It Take To Review My Application? No review required for this license. Any North Carolina resident 
may obtain this license.  
 
Where Do I Submit My Application? Any N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries License Office. Visit the following link for 
license sales contact information: http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/mf/dmf-offices. 
 
How Long Is My Permit or License or Certificate Valid? All licenses are valid for up to one year and expire on June 
30. 
 
Notes/Comments: This license is nontransferable. A Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration is required for vessels used 
to harvest fish and shellfish for commercial purposes. Military personnel whose home base is located in NC are eligible to 
purchase a shellfish license. Businesses are ineligible for Shellfish Licenses. 
 
  
Legal Authority/Statute Reference: General Statute 113-169.2, NC Fisheries Rules for Coastal Waters 15A NCAC 
3O.0101(a). 
 
Link: http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries 
 
Statewide Contact Information: 
NC Division of Marine Fisheries  
License and Statistics Section 
3441 Arendell Street 
Morehead City, NC 28557 
Telephone: (252) 726-7021 or 1-800-682-2632 
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