## **Marine Fisheries**

## **Standard Commercial Fishing License (SCFL)**

**What Activities Require This Permit?** The Standard Commercial Fishing License allows fishermen to harvest and sell fish, shrimp, crabs or any other marine species except shellfish.

What Is The Purpose of This Permit? To license and identify commercial fishermen.

Who Issues This Permit? N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries, License and Statistics Section.

**How Much Will This Permit Cost?** \$400 for North Carolina residents. Non-residents pay the amount charged to a N.C. resident in the non-resident state, whichever is greater. In no event is it to be less than \$400.

What Are My Payment Options for Permit Application Fees? Check or cash

**If Paying by Check, Who do I Make the Check Payable to and Where Do I Send the Check?** If applying inperson for a permit or license at a NC DMF Field Office, the application and check or cash are submitted at the time of purchase. If renewing a permit or license by mail the applicant must submit the application and check to the NCDMF, License Office, PO Box 769, Morehead City, NC 28557. Please make all checks payable to NCDMF.

**Where Can I Get The Application For This Permit?** Contact any N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries license office. Visit the following link for license sales locations: <a href="http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/mf/dmf-offices">http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/mf/dmf-offices</a>.

**How Long Will It Take To Review My Application?** No review required for existing license holders and transfers. Applicants who do not hold the license may submit an application to the Eligibility Pool that may take up to six months for review.

**Where Do I Submit My Application?** N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries, License Office, 3441 Arendell St., PO Box 769, Morehead City, NC 28557.

**How Long Is My Permit or License or Certificate Valid?** All licenses are valid for up to one year and expire on June 30.

**Notes/Comments:** This license is transferable and may be assigned to others to use. To harvest shellfish, fishermen must select endorsements to the SCFL. The shellfish endorsement includes harvest of scallops, clams, conchs, whelks, oysters and mussels in North Carolina waters. Only individual North Carolina residents are eligible for this endorsement. Replacing or updating current valid license with shellfish endorsement is \$10.

**Legal Authority/Statute Reference:** General Statute 113-168.2, NC Fisheries Rules for Coastal Waters 15A NCAC 30.0101(a).

Link: http://deg.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries

## **Statewide Contact Information:**

NC Division of Marine Fisheries License and Statistics Section 3441 Arendell Street Morehead City, NC 28557

Telephone: (252) 726-7021 or 1-800-682-2632