Marine Fisheries

Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License (RSCFL)

What Activities Require This Permit? The Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License allows individuals 65 or older to harvest and sell fish, shrimp, crabs or any marine species, to a licensed dealer.

What Is The Purpose of This Permit? To license and identify commercial fishermen.

Who Issues This Permit? N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries (DMF), License and Statistics Section.

How Much Will This Permit Cost? \$200 for North Carolina residents, \$260 for non-residents. See fee schedule for other endorsement, replacement, and transfer fees.

Where Can I Get The Application For This Permit? Contact any N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries license office. Visit the following link for license sales locations: http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/mf/dmf-offices.

How Long Will It Take To Review My Application? No review required for existing license holders and transfers. Applicants who do not hold the license may submit an application to the eligibility board which may take up to six months for review.

Where Do I Submit My Application? Any N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries License Office. Visit the following link for license sales contact information: http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/mf/dmf-offices.

How Long Is My Permit or License or Certificate Valid? All licenses are valid for up to one year and expire on June 30.

Notes/Comments: Individuals 65 years old or older may elect to obtain the Standard Commercial Fishing License (SCFL) or the Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License (RSCFL). This license is transferable but not assignable. To harvest shellfish, fishermen must elect endorsements to the SCFL. The shellfish endorsement includes harvest of scallops, clams, conchs, whelks, oysters, and mussels in North Carolina waters. Only individual North Carolina residents are eligible for this endorsement.

Legal Authority/Statute Reference: General Statute 113-168.3, North Carolina Marine Fisheries Commission Rules 15A NCAC 30.0101.

Link: http://deg.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries

Statewide Contact Information:

NC Division of Marine Fisheries License and Statistics Section 3441 Arendell Street Morehead City, NC 28557

Telephone: (252) 726-7021 or 1-800-682-2632

NC DEQ Permit Directory