

# North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries COMMERCIAL FISHING VESSEL REGISTRATION (CFVR) APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS (REV 2023-12)

This application is to be completed and signed by individuals applying for a Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration. Businesses requesting a license must have the Responsible Party (business agent) complete and sign the application. The Responsible Party is the person who coordinates, supervises, or otherwise directs operations of a business entity, such as a corporate officer or executive-level supervisor of business operations and is the person responsible for use of the issued License in compliance with applicable laws and regulations. Individuals applying for a license for another under the authority of Power of Attorney must submit a **PHOTOCOPY** of the Power of Attorney and current picture identification.

#### **Eligibility Requirements:**

This registration is required for any vessel used in a commercial fishing operation in the coastal fishing waters of the state.

Provide a **PHOTOCOPY** of <u>one</u> of the following current picture identifications:

- Driver's License: or
- State Identification (issued by DMV); or
- Military Identification; or

- Passport; or
- Resident Alien Card (green card)

If you are applying as a business, you <u>must</u> provide:

- If incorporated, a **PHOTOCOPY** of Articles of Incorporation and list of current corporate holders.
- If organization, a **PHOTOCOPY** of the Articles of Organization and list of current corporate holders.
- If written agreement partnership, a PHOTOCOPY of written partnership agreement.
- If <u>not</u> incorporated, an organization, or written partnership, a **PHOTOCOPY** of current Assumed Name Statements filed with the Register of Deeds in your county, and a **PHOTOCOPY** of business privilege tax certificates, if applicable.
- Current annual reports for LLC or INC

### A Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration Application:

- All surveys must be completed.
- Sign and date the Application.
- Complete the NC DMF License Certification Statement Form. It must be notarized if applying for a new license.
- A PHOTOCOPY of valid vessel state registration or U.S. Coast Guard Vessel documentation. If applying for a transfer of
  ownership and the U.S. Coast Guard Vessel documentation is pending, a notarized bill of sale will be accepted.

#### Fees:

- See Commercial License and Permit Fee Sheet. If you need assistance, please contact any NC DMF License Office or call (252) 515-5500 or (800) 682-2632. Replacement Fee: There is a \$10.00 fee for replacing current/valid license.
- Method of payment: Personal check, Money Order, Cashier check, or Credit Card (In person only). Make payable to North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries. There will be a \$25.00 service charge for returned checks.

You are required to notify the Division of Marine Fisheries of any address or residency changes within 30 days. Incomplete applications submitted without required documentation will be deemed incomplete and returned to you unprocessed.

Mail to: North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries

License Office PO Box 769

Morehead City, NC 28557



## North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries COMMERCIAL FISHING VESSEL REGISTRATION (CFVR) APPLICATION (REV 2023-12)

Select One: Li New Application Li Renew Li Replace Li Opdate and/or Change of Vessel Master									
Is this fishing vessel used for (select one) ☐ Commercial ☐ For-Hire ☐ Both									
Existing License Number  (This number is printed on the license to the right of the words Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration and is the 'P' number.)									
Select One: ☐ Individual ☐ Business Agent									
Individual or Business Agent Participant Information  Participant I.D. First Name Middle Name					Last Name Suffix				
, antopant n2		Traine Traine							
Participant I.D.	Business N	Business Name:			State of Incorporation:			Charter State:	
Business Owner Name (F, I	M, L)	Business Owner/Agent Name (F, M, L)			Business Ov	Business Owner/Agent Name (F, M, L)			
Check One: Driver's License □	State I.D.	State I.D. ☐ Military I.D. ☐			Resident Alien I.D. Passport				
No. Expire Date									
Date of Birth	Primary Residence (State)			E-mail Address					
//									
Race Gender:	ce Gender: Physical Address				Mailing Address				
M / F									
Height Weight Address 1:				Address 1:					
	Address 2:				Address 2:				
Eye Color Hair Color	City: State: Zip:			City:	State:	Zi	p:		
	Country: Country:			County:		Country	<i>r</i> :		
Home Phone: Business Phone: Fax:			Fax:	Cellular Phone:					
( ) -				( ) -		( )	-		

Type of Business Entity (Circle One): Corporation Partnership Sole Proprietorship LLC



### North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries COMMERCIAL FISHING VESSEL REGISTRATION (CFVR) APPLICATION (REV 2023-12)

Complete Required Vessel Usage Survey, Vessel Survey, Vessel Owner Survey and Gear Survey Sections.

\*\*THIS INFOMRMATION IS REQUIRED!\* IF INCOMPLETE, APPLICATION WILL NOT BE PROCESSED AND WILL BE RETURNED\*\*

Vessel Name:		<u> </u>	Vessel Length:			
		Expire Date				
Documentation #:		1 1	Vessel Year Built:			
State Registration #:		Expire Date / /	Vessel Manufacturer:			
Hull I.D.:			Vessel Gross Tons:			
Homeport:			Net Tons:			
Port of Landing:			Vessel Master Name:			
			Vessel Master DOB:			
Vessel Survey						
Carrying Capacity:	Pounds					
Total Horsepower						
Observers Allowed:	☐ YES ☐ NO					
Propulsion:	☐ Outboard	☐ Inboard	☐ Inboard/Outboard	☐ Other		
Hull Material:	□ Fiberglass	☐ Wood	□ Aluminum	☐ Steel	☐ Other	
Engine Type:	□ Gas	☐ Diesel	☐ Other	☐ Other		
Number of Engines:						
Vessel Owner Information Survey (please select one of the following Owner designations)						
☐ Owner and Master	owner, but not N	Master □ M	aster	7		



## North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries COMMERCIAL FISHING VESSEL REGISTRATION (CFVR) APPLICATION (REV 2023-12)

<u>Gear Survey</u>-Please complete the following with an accurate account of gear actually used, not owned, the previous year. This information is used by our biologists to estimate effort in specific fisheries and is not available on trip tickets.

Check all that apply:	Min – Max Yds	Yards fished	ds fished C		at	Min – Max Reels	No. of Reels used per trip
☐ Beach Seine	100 - 2,000	Yds.		☐ Rod-n-Reel		1 - 10	
☐ Swipe Net	50 – 3,000	Yds.					
☐ Haul Seine	50 – 3,000	Yds.	Ch		at	Min - Max Lines	No. of Lines pulled per trip
☐ Common Seine	5 – 200	Yds.		☐ Trolling		1 - 8	
☐ Purse Seine	100 – 1,000	Yds.					
☐ Channel Net	10 - 40	Yds.		Check all that apply:		Min - Max Hooks	Number of Hooks set
				☐ Longline :	Surface	100 – 3,000	
Check all that apply:	Min – Max Nets	Combined Headrope Length		☐ Longline I	Bottom	100 – 2,000	
☐ Butterfly Net	1 - 2	Ft.		☐ Longline \$	Shark	100 – 2,000	
☐ Skimmer Trawl	1 - 2	Ft.	•	☐ Trotline		5 - 200	
☐ Crab Trawl	1 - 2	Ft.	L				
☐ Flounder Trawl	1 - 2	Ft.		Check all that apply:		Min - Max Hooks	Number of Hooks set
☐ Scallop Trawl	1 - 2	Ft.		☐ Turtle Hooks		1 - 50	
☐ Shrimp Trawl	1 - 4	Ft.	Į.			•	
☐ Clam Trawl Kicking	1	Ft.					
☐ Flynet	1	Ft.	_	Check all that apply:		Min - Max Pots	Number Fished
				☐ Conch Po	ot	1 – 100	
Check all that apply:	Min – Max Sets	Number Set		☐ Fish Pot		1 - 200	
☐ Shrimp Pound	1 – 100			☐ Turtle Pot		1 – 100	
☐ Fyke Net	1 – 100		•	☐ Crab Pot		1 – 1,000	
-	1			☐ Peeler Pot		1 – 1,000	
			•	☐ Eel Pot*		1 – 600	
			L	*use of eel	pots req	uires submission	of monthly logbooks.
Check all that apply:	Min – Max Yds	Yards Fished					
☐ Gill Net Set (float)	50 – 3,000	Yds.					
☐ Gill Net (drift)	50 – 3,000	Yds.	Ī	Check all that			1
☐ Gill Net (runaround)	50 – 3,000	Yds.		□ Gigs			
☐ Gill Net Set (sink)	50 – 3,000	Yds.					
Economic Survey (must be completed by Responsible Party)							
First Name			<i>J</i> ,		At least 50% of income derived from commerce fishing?		
					☐ YES		
L	'	ı					
Signature:							
Applicant signature (Must be signed to be valid) Date							



ST. ST.	THE PIE WE	North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries LICENSE APPLICATION CERTIFICATION FORM (REV 2023-12)	OFFICE USE ONLY Year PID # License #				
<u>Ce</u>	rtification St	tatement (This section must be completed by applicant)					
Ι, _		certify that:	DMF Staff:				
1.	documentat documents l in termination	mation provided on this application and any supporting ion provided is true, accurate, and complete. And further, for renewal have been provided at the time of renewal. I understand that any falson of appropriate licenses, permits and related documents, revocatioges, and in possible criminal prosecution.	se information or fraudulent disclosures may result				
2.	I am a resid	ent of the State of :					
	If claiming re	esident status in North Carolina, I certify further that <i>(check one)</i> :					
	☐ I have been a legal resident for more than six months, or						
If domiciled in North Carolina between 60 days and six months, I have completed and submitted wit a notarized Certificate of Eligibility for North Carolina Residency.							
3.	s. If applying for a Standard or Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License as a North Carolina Resident, I also certify that (che the appropriate entry):						
		I filed a North Carolina State Income Tax Return for the previous of	calendar or tax year.				
I was not required to file a North Carolina State Income Tax Return for the previous calendar or tax year							
	I understand if there are any questions regarding the filing of a North Carolina State Income Tax Return, I may have to provide appropriate tax records, as requested by the Division of Marine Fisheries.						
4.	For commercial fishing licenses, endorsements or registrations I certify that:						
	<ul> <li>I currently have no marine fisheries licenses, permits, endorsements, or registrations under suspension or revocation and to privilege to hold such licenses, permits, endorsements, or registrations is not revoked or suspended.</li> </ul>						
	b) I have not been convicted of four or more violations in any jurisdiction related to state or federal law or regulations involvin related to marine or estuarine resources during the previous three years.						
5.	NC General Statute §113-221 requires the NC Division of Marine Fisheries to provide a current copy of the rules governing activities authorized by the license you are purchasing. You have the right to request a current rulebook in hardbound. The document is available on the Division of Marine Fisheries website on the "Rules and Regulations" webpage at <a href="https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries/rules-proclamations-and-size-and-bag-limits/rules">https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries/rules-proclamations-and-size-and-bag-limits/rules</a> .						
6.	For for-hire fishing licenses and endorsements, I affirm that I have liability insurance and that I am knowledgeable of USCG safety requirements for the vessel(s) used in the operation in accordance with G.S. 113-168.6.						
7.	If application is for a Standard/Retired Commercial Fishing License with a Shellfish Endorsement or a Shellfish License for NC Residents I affirm that I have received the required harvester training.						
8.	For Ocean Fishing Pier License, linear length of the pier and responsible parties has not changed.						
9.	If applying for a Land or Sell License, I also certify that: (check the appropriate entry)						
		I have a commercial fishing license issued by the state of	(Other than North Carolina).				
		I have a federal permit that allows commercial fishing.					
Sig	gnature of Ap	plicant:	Date:				
NC	OTARY ( <b>Only</b>	NEW applications must be notarized)					

Sworn to and Subscribed before me this \_\_\_\_\_ day and year of \_\_\_\_\_, \_\_\_\_,

State: \_\_\_\_\_ County: \_\_\_\_\_

Notary Public: \_\_\_\_\_\_My Commission expires: \_\_\_\_\_