

North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries STANDARD COMMERCIAL FISHING LICENSE (SCFL) OR RETIRED STANDARD COMMERCIAL FISHING LICENSE (RSCFL) RENEWAL OR REPLACEMENT APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS (REV 2023-12)

Applications are to be completed and signed by individuals who are to be licensed. Businesses renewing a license must have the Responsible Party (business agent) complete and sign the application. The Responsible Party is the person who coordinates, supervises or otherwise directs operations of a business entity, such as a corporate officer or executive-level supervisor of business operations and is the person responsible for use of the issued License in compliance with applicable laws and regulations. Individuals applying for a license for another under the authority of Power of Attorney must submit a **PHOTOCOPY** of the Power of Attorney and current picture identification.

Eligibility:

Only licensees who held a SCFL or RSCFL can renew. A separate application **must** be fully completed for **each** SCFL or RSCFL renewed. You must be 65 years old or older to renew as RSCFL and it is not assignable. If you are 65 years old or older and wish to assign your license, you can convert it to a SCFL which is assignable. The RSCFL cannot be issued to businesses or single vessel corporations.

Single vessel corporations must provide Master of the Vessel information. By doing this, single vessel corporations do not have to assign the Standard Commercial Fishing License, but if the Master of the Vessel changes, you must notify the Division within 5 days.

When using a vessel in conjunction with a **Standard Commercial Fishing License / Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License**, the vessel must have a Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration decal from the North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries.

Provide a **PHOTOCOPY** of one of the following current picture identifications of Individual applicants, Responsible Party (business agents) for business applicants and/or Vessel Master for single vessel corporations:

• Driver's License; or

- Passport; or
- State Identification (issued by DMV); or
- Resident Alien Card (green card)

Military Identification; or

If you are applying as a business, you must provide:

- If incorporated, a **PHOTOCOPY** of Articles of Incorporation and list of current corporate holders.
- If organization, a **PHOTOCOPY** of the Articles of Organization and list of current corporate holders.
- If written agreement partnership, a PHOTOCOPY of written partnership agreement.
- If <u>not</u> incorporated, an organization, or written partnership, a **PHOTOCOPY** of current assumed name statements, filed with Clerk of Court in the business county, and a **PHOTOCOPY** of business privilege tax certificates, if applicable.
- Current annual reports for LLC or INC

A RSCFL or SCFL Renewal Application:

- Shellfish Endorsements (Optional) Only individual North Carolina residents are eligible. Businesses are NOT
 eligible for the Shellfish Endorsement.
- If you have moved to the state of North Carolina and have resided within the state for 60 days to six months and consider North Carolina as your permanent residence, you are required to complete the Certification of Eligibility for North Carolina Residency/Domicile.
- Information on the Vessel Master (if the Vessel Master changes, you are required to file an updated license application with the North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries and will be charged a \$10.00 replacement fee).
- If applying as a single vessel corporation, complete Vessel Master Information.
- Complete Economic Survey.
- Sign and date the application.
- Completed Certification Statement Form. It must be notarized if you are a new applicant.



North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries STANDARD COMMERCIAL FISHING LICENSE (SCFL) OR RETIRED STANDARD COMMERCIAL FISHING LICENSE (RSCFL) RENEWAL OR REPLACEMENT APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS (REV 2023-12)

Fees:

- See Commercial License and Permit Fee Sheet. If you need assistance, please contact any NC DMF License Office or call (252) 515-5500 or (800) 682-2632. Replacement Fee: There is a \$10.00 fee for replacing current/valid license.
- Method of payment: Personal check, Money Order, Cashier check, or Credit Card (In person only). Make payable to North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries. There will be a \$25.00 service charge for returned checks.

You are required to notify the Division of Marine Fisheries of any address changes within 30 days. Incomplete applications submitted without required documentation will be deemed incomplete and returned to you unprocessed. If Vessel Master changes, you must file an updated application with the Division of Marine Fisheries within 5 days.

Mail to: North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries License Office PO Box 769 Morehead City, NC 28557



North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries STANDARD COMMERCIAL FISHING LICENSE (SCFL) OR RETIRED STANDARD COMMERCIAL FISHING LICENSE (RSCFL) RENEWAL OR REPLACEMENT APPLICATION (REV 2023-12)

Select One			Replace	ΠU	pdate					
Existing SCFL/RSCFL License Number (This number is printed on the license to the right of the words Retired or Standard Commercial Fishing License.)										
Select One: SCFL – no age restrictions, is assignable RSCFL – 65 years or older, not assignable, not in business name										
Endorsemer	Endorsements: Shellfish DYes DNo (NC individual residents only, no businesses)									
NC Residency	NC Residency: Non-resident – less than 60 days Gomplete the Certification of Eligibility for NC Residency									
Select One:										
Participant I.I		First Name		Middle	Name		Last Name			Suffix
Participant I.I	D.	Business N	lame:				State of Incor	poration: Charter State:		
Business Ow	ner Name (F, I	M, L)	Business Owner	r/Agent Na	ame (F, M, L)		Business Owner/Agent Name (F, M, L)			
Check One: Driver's License State I.D.			/lilitary I.D	. 🗆	Re	esident Alien I.D. 🛛 Passport 🗖				
No.			Expire Date / /							
Date of Birth		Primary Re	esidence (State)			E-mail Address				
/	_/									
Race	Gender:	Physical A	ddress			Mailing Address Check if same as physical address				
	M / F									
Height	Height Weight Address 1:				Address 1:					
Address 2:					Address 2:					
Eye Color Hair Color City: State:			Zip:		City	City: State: Zip:			ip:	
	County: Country: County: Country:									
Home Phone	Home Phone: Business Phone:			2	Fax:		Cellular Phone:			
() - () -					() -	() - () -				
Type of B	usiness Ent	t ity (Circle	One): Co	rporatio	n Partner	rship	p Sole Pro	oprietor	ship	LLC



North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries STANDARD COMMERCIAL FISHING LICENSE (SCFL) OR RETIRED STANDARD COMMERCIAL FISHING LICENSE (RSCFL) RENEWAL OR REPLACEMENT APPLICATION (REV 2023-12)

Single Vessel Corporations Must Complete this section with the Vessel Master's Information

Participant I.D. F		First Name	Middle	Name	Last Name		S	Guffix
Check One: Driver's License □ Sta		State I.D. 🗖	Military I.D	. 🗖	Resident Alien I.D.		D. D Passport D	
No.		Expire Da / /	Expire Date / /					
Date of Birth		Primary Residence (State	e)		E-mail Address			
/	_/							
Race	Gender:	Physical Address			Mailing Address Check if same as physical address			
	M / F							
Height	Weight	Address 1:			Address 1:			
		Address 2:			Address 2:			
Eye Color	Hair Color	City: State	: Zip:		City:	State:	Zip:	
		County:	Country:		County:		Country:	
Home Phone:		Business Phone:	Business Phone: Fax:		Cellular Phone:			
() -		() -		() -		()	-	

Economic Survey (must be completed by Responsible Party)

First Name	Middle Name Last Name		At least 50% of income derived from commercial fishing?		
			□ YES	□ NO	

Signature:

Applicant signature Must be signed to be valid Date



North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality **Division of Marine Fisheries** LICENSE APPLICATION CERTIFICATION FORM (REV 2023-12)

OFFICE USE ONLY PID #	Year
License #	
DMF Staff	

Certification Statement (This section must be completed by applicant)

I,		certify that:	DMF Staff:			
1.	documenta documents in terminati	rmation provided on this application and any supporting ation provided is true, accurate, and complete. And further, for renewa s have been provided at the time of renewal. I understand that any fals- ion of appropriate licenses, permits and related documents, revocation eges, and in possible criminal prosecution.	e information or fraudulent disclosures may result			
2.	l am a resi	dent of the State of :				
	If claiming	resident status in North Carolina, I certify further that (check one):				
		I have been a legal resident for more than six months, or				
		If domiciled in North Carolina between 60 days and six months, I ha a notarized Certificate of Eligibility for North Carolina Residency.	ave completed and submitted with this application			
3.		for a Standard or Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License as a I priate entry):	North Carolina Resident, I also certify that (check			
		I filed a North Carolina State Income Tax Return for the previous ca	alendar or tax year.			
		I was not required to file a North Carolina State Income Tax Return	n for the previous calendar or tax year.			
		nd if there are any questions regarding the filing of a North Carolina Sta e tax records, as requested by the Division of Marine Fisheries.	ate Income Tax Return, I may have to provide			
4.	For comme	ercial fishing licenses, endorsements or registrations I certify that:				
	 a) I currently have no marine fisheries licenses, permits, endorsements, or registrations under suspension or revocation and t privilege to hold such licenses, permits, endorsements, or registrations is not revoked or suspended. 					
		not been convicted of four or more violations in any jurisdiction related to marine or estuarine resources during the previous three years.	d to state or federal law or regulations involving or			
5.	NC General Statute §113-221 requires the NC Division of Marine Fisheries to provide a current copy of the rules governing activities authorized by the license you are purchasing. You have the right to request a current rulebook in hardbound. The document is available on the Division of Marine Fisheries website on the "Rules and Regulations" webpage at https://deg.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries/rules-proclamations-and-size-and-bag-limits/rules .					
6.		e fishing licenses and endorsements, I affirm that I have liability insurants for the vessel(s) used in the operation in accordance with G.S. 113				
7.		on is for a Standard/Retired Commercial Fishing License with a Shellfis I affirm that I have received the required harvester training.	sh Endorsement or a Shellfish License for NC			
8.	For Ocean	Fishing Pier License, linear length of the pier and responsible parties	has not changed.			
9.	If applying	for a Land or Sell License, I also certify that: (check the appropriate er	ntry)			
		I have a commercial fishing license issued by the state of	(Other than North Carolina).			
		I have a federal permit that allows commercial fishing.				
Sig	gnature of A	pplicant:	Date:			
NC)TARY (Onl	ly NEW applications must be notarized)				
Sta	ate:	County:				
Sw	vorn to and ६	Subscribed before me this day and year of				
No	tary Public:	My Commission e	expires:			

North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries • 3441 Arendell ST • PO Box 769 • Morehead City, NC 28557 (252) 726-7021



North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries CERTIFICATION OF ELIGIBILITY FOR RESIDENCY / DOMICILE (REV 2023-12)

OFFICE US	E ONLY	Year	
PID #			
PERMIT # _			
DMF Staff:			

Certification Statement (Both sections A & B must be completed by applicant)

Section A:					
I, Print First Name, MI,	Last Name	, do hereby c	ertify to the I	NC Division of Marine	Fisheries
that I have resided in North	Carolina for sixty days to	six months prece	eding the dat	a of this application.	
		icant's Signature t be signed to b		Date	
Section B:					
l, Print First Name, MI, Last Name		do her	eby certify to	o the NC Division of N	larine Fisheries
that on the	day of	20	, I establis	shed my bona fide res	idence or abode,
at <i>Street</i>			City	State	; Zip
and I do hereby certify that was, has been, and is to ma Carolina as my principal pla	aintain such abode, or som	ne other bode loo	ated within		
		icant's Signature t be signed to b		Date	
NOTARY					
State:	County:				
Sworn to and Subscribed be	fore me this	day of			
Notary Public:		My Commissi	on expires: _		