

North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries BLANKET FOR-HIRE VESSEL or NON-BLANKET FOR-HIRE VESSEL COASTAL RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSE (CRFL) APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS (REV 2022-03)

Attached is an application for a Blanket For-Hire Vessel Coastal Recreational Fishing License or a Non-Blanket For-Hire Vessel License. Either the operator of the vessel, the owner or a business agent may apply. A United States Coast Guard operator's license is not required for application although all operators of for-hire vessels must be properly licensed by the USCG. The Blanket For-Hire Vessel CRFL covers the recreational fishing license requirements for all anglers aboard the vessel when fishing in coastal waters but not joint or inland waters. The Non-Blanket For-Hire Vessel License does not cover the licensing requirements of passengers so each angler 16 years or older must hold a valid Coastal Recreational Fishing License. Both licenses are available for 6 or fewer passengers or more than 6 passengers. See NC General Statute 113-174.3 for regulations governing for-hire licensing. Individuals applying for a license for another under the authority of Power of Attorney must submit a **PHOTOCOPY** of the Power of Attorney and current picture identification.

Provide a **PHOTOCOPY** of one of the following current picture identifications:

- Driver's License; or
- State Identification (issued by DMV); or
- Military Identification; or

- Passport; or
- Resident Alien Card (green card)

If you are applying as a business, you <u>must</u> provide:

- If incorporated, a **PHOTOCOPY** of Articles of Incorporation and list of current corporate holders.
- If written agreement partnership, a PHOTOCOPY of written partnership agreement.
- If <u>not</u> incorporated or written partnership, a **PHOTOCOPY** of current Assumed Name Statements, if filed, and a **PHOTOCOPY** of business privilege tax certificates, if applicable.

A Blanket For-Hire VESSEL Captain's CRFL Application:

- Complete the Vessel Survey (Vessel usage survey definitions)
 - Charter Boat any for-hire vessel typically hired on a per trip basis.
 - Head Boat any for-hire vessel typically hired on a per person basis.
 - <u>Guide Boat</u> a for-hire vessel typically less than 30' carrying a fishing guide and one or more recreational fishermen.
 - Dive Boat any vessel engaged in underwater diving that allows persons to take fish for recreational purposes.
- Sign the Application.
- Complete the NC DMF License Certification Statement Form. It must be notarized if applying for a new license.
- A PHOTOCOPY of valid vessel state registration or U.S. Coast Guard Vessel documentation.
- A **PHOTOCOPY** of all valid United States Coast Guard Operators certifications (Masters, OUPV, etc.) suitable for the passenger rating you are applying for.

Fees:

- See Commercial License and Permit Fee Sheet. If you need assistance, please contact any NC DMF License Office or call (252) 726-7021 or (800) 682-2632. Replacement Fee: There is a \$5.00 fee for replacing current/valid license.
- Method of payment: Personal check, money order or Cashier check. Make payable to North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries. There will be a \$25.00 service charge for returned checks.

A **PHOTOCOPY** of valid vessel registration or U.S. Coast Guard Vessel Documentation for vessels used in the for-hire fishery. If applying for a transfer of ownership and the U.S Coast Guard Vessel Documentation is pending, a notarized bill of sale will be accepted.

You are required to notify the Division of Marine Fisheries of any address or residency changes within 30 days. Incomplete applications submitted without required documentation will be deemed incomplete and returned to you unprocessed.

Mail to: North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries License Office PO Box 769 Morehead City, NC 28557



Type of Business Entity (Circle One):

North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries

BLANKET FOR-HIRE VESSEL COASTAL RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSE (CRFL) OR NON-BLANKET FOR-HIRE VESSEL LICENSE APPLICATION

Applying For:	☐ Blanket Ve	essel CF	RFL 🗆	Non-Bla	anket V	essel License					
	☐ Six or Few	er Pass	sengers 🗆	More tha	an Six F	Passenge	ers				
Select One:	□ New Applic	cation	□ Replace	e 🗆	Renew	⁄al □	l Up	date			
Existing Lice	nse Numbers	for Re	placements								
Select One:	elect One:					☐ Bus	siness Agent				
Individual or	Business Age	nt Partio	cipant Informat	ion							
Participant I.D.		First N	ame		Middle N	Name		Last Name			Suffix
Participant I.D.		Business Name:						State of Incorporation: Charter			Charter State:
Business Owne	r Name (F, M, L	.)	Business Owner/Agent Name (F, M, L)					Business Owner/Agent Name (F, M, L)			
Oh a ala Ossas		1									
Check One: Driver's License	e 🗆	State I.D. □		Mili	Military I.D. □		Re	Resident Alien I.D. □ Passı		Passpo	ort 🗆
No.		•	Expi	re Date		1 1				·	
Date of Birth		Primary Residence (State)					E-	E-mail Address			
//		, , ,									
Race	Physical Address						Mailing Address				
Height	M / F Weight	Address 1:					Ad	Address 1:			
		Address 2:					٨٥	Idropa 2:			
		Address 2:				Address 2:					
Eye Color	Hair Color	City: State: Zip:				Cit	ty:	State:	: 2	Zip:	
	County: Country:					County: Country:					
Home Phone:	•		Business Phone		,	Fax:		,	Cellular		
			,			,			,		
() -		() -			()	-		()	-	

Partnership

Sole Proprietorship

LLC

Corporation



North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries

BLANKET FOR-HIRE VESSEL COASTAL RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSE (CRFL) OR NON-BLANKET FOR-HIRE VESSEL LICENSE APPLICATION

Vessel Survey									
Vessel Name:							Vessel Gross Tons:		
			Expire Date		e Operating				
US Customs #:			/ /	Coun			Vessel Length:		
St. Registration #:			Expire Date / /	Home State	e Operating :		Vessel Year Built:		
Hull ID #:				Total	Horsepower:		Number of Crew:		
Vessel Manufacturer:					ing Capacity:		Number of Engines:		
Propulsion:	□ Outb	ooard 🗆 Inb	oard 🗆 Inl	board/0	Outboard □ 0	Other			
Hull Material:	□ Fibe	erglass □ Woo	od □ Alum	inum	□ Steel □	Other			
Engine Type: ☐ Gas ☐ Diesel ☐ Oth			Other	er Are you the primary operator of			el? □ Yes □ I	No	
Check one	Charter	Boat ☐ He	ad Boat 🔲	Guide	Boat ☐ Dive	e Boat 🔲			
Economic Survey ((must b	e completed)							
First Name		Middle Name	Last Nam	e		At least 50% of income derived from commercial fishing?			
						□ YES	□ NO		
By signing below, I a vessel(s) used in the	operati	on in accordan			6.	eable of USCG sa	fety requirements fo	r the	
	licant Sig	gnature ned to be valid			Date				
ivius	or ne sig	neu to be vallu							



Notary Public:_

North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries

PID#	SE ONLY	Year
License #		
DMF Staff:		

		ubscribed before me this day and year of							
		NEW applications must be notarized)							
Siç	nature of Ap	plicant:							
		I have a federal permit that allows commercial fishing.							
		I have a commercial fishing license issued by the state of	(Other than North Carolina).						
9.	If applying fo	or a Land or Sell License, I also certify that: (check the appropriate e	ntry)						
8.	For Ocean F	Fishing Pier License, linear length of the pier and responsible parties	has not changed.						
7.		n is for a Standard/Retired Commercial Fishing License with a Shellf affirm that I have received the required harvester training.	ish Endorsement or a Shellfish License for NC						
6.		fishing licenses and endorsements, I affirm that I have liability insurar s for the vessel(s) used in the operation in accordance with G.S. 113							
5.	governing ad hardbound.	Statute §113-221 requires the NC Division of Marine Fisheries to proctivities authorized by the license you are purchasing. You have the The document is available on the Division of Marine Fisheries websancdenr.org/web/mf/rules-and-regulations.	right to request a current rulebook in						
		not been convicted of four or more violations in any jurisdiction relate to marine or estuarine resources during the previous three years.	d to state or federal law or regulations involving or						
		tly have no marine fisheries licenses, permits, endorsements, or reg e to hold such licenses, permits, endorsements, or registrations is no							
4.	For commer	cial fishing licenses, endorsements or registrations I certify that:							
		d if there are any questions regarding the filing of a North Carolina Stax records, as requested by the Division of Marine Fisheries.	tate Income Tax Return, I may have to provide						
		I was not required to file a North Carolina State Income Tax Return	n for the previous calendar or tax year.						
		I filed a North Carolina State Income Tax Return for the previous of	calendar or tax year.						
3.		f applying for a Standard or Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License as a North Carolina Resident, I also certify that <i>(check the</i> appropriate entry):							
		If domiciled in North Carolina between 60 days and six months, I h notarized Certificate of Eligibility for North Carolina Residency.	ave completed and submitted with this application a						
		I have been a legal resident for more than six months, or							
	If claiming re	esident status in North Carolina, I certify further that <i>(check one)</i> :							
2.									
1.	documentati documents h termination of	mation provided on this application and any supporting ion provided is true, accurate, and complete. And further, for renewath ave been provided at the time of renewal. I understand that any falsof appropriate licenses, permits and related documents, revocation of the possible criminal prosecution.	se information or fraudulent disclosures may result in						
I, _		certify that:							
<u>Ce</u>	rtification St	tatement (This section must be completed by applicant)	DMF Staff:						
•	E FISHE	(REV 2021-08)							

_My Commission expires: