

North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries COASTAL RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSE (CRFL) EXEMPTION PERMIT APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS (REV 2022-03)

Applications are to be completed and signed by the individual or, if the owner is a corporation, agency, university or organization, the Responsible Party of the organization that is to be permitted. Businesses requesting a permit must have the Responsible Party (business agent) complete and sign the application. The Responsible Party (business agent) is the person who coordinates, supervises, or otherwise directs operations of a business entity, such as a corporate officer or executive-level supervisor of business operations and is the person responsible for use of the issued permit in compliance with applicable laws and regulations. Individuals applying for a permit for another under the authority of Power of Attorney must submit a **PHOTOCOPY** of the Power of Attorney and current picture identification.

Eligibility Requirements

This permit is for an individual or organizations, seeking exemption from recreational fishing license requirements to conduct an organized fishing event held in coastal or joint fishing waters. The Coastal Recreational Fishing License Exemption Permit shall only be issued when all required information is submitted in writing a minimum of **30 days** prior to the event.

Individual applicants or Responsible Party (business agents) for business applicants must provide a **PHOTOCOPY** of <u>one</u> of the following current picture identifications:

• Driver's License; or

•

- Passport; or
- State Identification (issued by DMV); or
- Resident Alien Card (green card)

Military Identification; or

To facilitate processing, indicate whether you have any other North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries license issued in the name that you are applying. Enter the Participant Identification Number (PID) listed on these other licenses. This number is located to the right of the word *Participant* # on your license.

If you are applying as a business, university, or organization, you must provide:

- State tax identification number assigned by the North Carolina Department of Revenue; or federal tax identification number; or Social Security number.
- If incorporated, PHOTOCOPY of Articles of Incorporation and list of current corporate holders.
- If written agreement partnership, **PHOTOCOPY** of written partnership agreement.
- If <u>not</u> incorporated or written partnership, PHOTOCOPY of current Assumed Name Statement, filed with Clerk of Court in the business county, and PHOTOCOPY of business privilege tax certificates, if applicable.

A CRFL Exemption Permit Application:

- Advise if there will be any local, state or federal government involvement and provide written documentation substantiating involvement.
- Provide a written explanation of the purpose of the event.
- Advise if there are any cost or requirements for an individual participating in the event.
- An estimate on the number of people participating in the event.
- Sign the application.
- Complete, sign, and notarize (if new application) the Permit Application Certification form.

Fees:

• There is no cost for this permit.

All permit requests are reviewed by NC Division of Marine Fisheries staff. Conditions may be placed upon the permit

You are required to notify the Division of Marine Fisheries of any address or residency changes within 30 days. Incomplete applications submitted without required documentation will be deemed incomplete and returned to you unprocessed.

Mail to: North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries License Office PO Box 769 Morehead City, NC 28557

		Division of N DNAL FISHING LICEN	tment of Environmental Quality larine Fisheries SE (CRFL) EXEMPTION PERMIT APPLICATION 2022-03)
Do you currently	hold a NCDMF license in th	ie name you are applyi	ng? Check one 🛛 Yes 🛛 No
If yes, enter your	Participant # from these lice	enses	
Select One:	□ New Application	□ Updat	ing or replacing current permit
	emption Permit Number inted on the permit)		
Select One:	Individual (complete the Individua	al Participant Information)	Business Agent (agency, university, organization) (complete the Business Participant Information and Individual Participant

Information)

Individual or Business Agent Participant Information

Participant I.D.	Participant I.D. First Name		Middle	Name	Last Name			Suffix	
Participant I.D.		Busines	ss Name:			State of Inco	rporation:		Charter State:
Business Owner	Name (F, M, L	.)	Business Owner/A	Agent Name	(F, M, L)	Business Ow	ner/Agent	Name (I	F, M, L)
Oh a ala On as									
Check One: Driver's License I	7	State I.	пп	Military I.D	п	Resident Alien I.	рп	Passpo	ort 🗖
	_	oluto I.						l i doope	
No.			Expire Da	ate	/ /				
Date of Birth		Primary	Primary Residence (State)			E-mail Address			
			<u> </u>						
/ / _									
Race	Gender:	Physica	al Address			Mailing Address address	Chec	k if same	e as physical
	M / F								
Height	Weight	Addres	s 1:			Address 1:			
	Address 2:				Address 2:				
Eye Color	Hair Color	City: State: Zip:			City:	State	: 2	Zip:	
				r:		,			1
		County		Country:		County:		Country	v.
Home Phone:	L	B	Business Phone:	Country.	Fax:	County.	Cellular	Phone:	у.
() -		() -		()	-	()	-	

Type of Business Entity (Circle One): Corporation

Partnership

Sole Proprietorship LLC

Academia



North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries COASTAL RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSE (CRFL) EXEMPTION PERMIT APPLICATION (REV 2022-03)

Purpose of CRFL Exemption Request (Check all that apply)							
Physical/Mental Limitations Specify:	 Military Appreciation Specify: 	Educational Purposes Specify:	Disadvantaged Youth Specify:				

Government Involvement, if applicable (sponsor, partner, etc.) – Attach written documentation substantiating involvement, if applicable. (CHECK ONE)

□ Local (specify): □ S	State (specify):	Federal (specify):	 Educational Institution (specify): 	□ None (not applicable)
------------------------	------------------	--------------------	--	-------------------------

Contact Person (First, MI, Last)	Contact Person's Date of Birth	Contact Person's Telephone No.
	/ / MO DAY YR	() -

Physical Location(s) of Event	Date(s) of Event	Time(s) of Event	Estimate of people participating in the event.

Is there any cost or requirement for an individual participant? (CHECK ONE)		
🗆 No	□ Yes. If yes, explain:	

Signature:

Applicant signature **Must be signed to be valid** Date



North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries COASTAL RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSE (CRFL) EXEMPTION PERMIT NC DMF OFFICE USE ONLY (REV 2022-03)

Applicant's Name:	PID#
Date Received by License Office:	
License Office (Check One):	
Information on Application is complete	Information on Application IS NOT complete
Comments:	

Recommendation: (Approve, Deny, Further Investigation) Indicate recommendation and initial.

SECTION REVIEWERS	Initials	Approve	Deny	Expiration Date (Specify Dates up to one year)	Comments
L&S Section Chief					
District Manager Fisheries Management					
Marine Patrol Captain					

DIRECTOR/DEPUTY DIRECTOR:

□ Approved for Permit

□ Not Approved for Permit

Date

Special Conditions placed on Permit:

Director / Deputy Director

Issued By:____

Signature

 Issue Date:
 /
 /

 MO
 DAY
 YR

TH CAROL
PART FISHER

North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries PERMIT APPLICATION CERTIFICATION & GENERAL PERMIT CONDITIONS FORM (REV 2021-08)

OFFICE US	EONLY	Year
PID #		
PERMIT # _		
DMF Staff:		

Certification Statement (This section must be completed by applicant)

- I. All the information provided on this application and any supporting documentation provided is true, accurate, and complete. And further, for renewals, any changes in information or supporting documents have been provided at the time of renewal. I understand that any false information or fraudulent disclosures may result in termination of appropriate licenses, permits and related documents, revocation or suspension of marine fisheries licensing and other privileges, and in possible criminal prosecution.
- 2. I am a resident of the State of:

If claiming resident status in North Carolina, I certify further that (check one):

- I have been a legal resident for more than six months, or
- If domiciled in North Carolina between 60 days and six months, I have completed and submitted with this application a notarized Certificate of Eligibility for North Carolina Residency.
- 3. For permits, I certify that:
 - a) I currently have no marine fisheries licenses, permits, endorsements, or registrations under suspension or revocation and the privilege to hold such licenses, permits, endorsements, or registrations is not revoked or suspended.
 - b) I have not been convicted of four or more violations in any jurisdiction related to state or federal law or regulations involving or related to marine or estuarine resources during the previous three years.
 - c) I understand that as a condition of accepting a permit from the Division of Marine Fisheries, I agree to abide by all conditions of the permit and agree, that if conditions of the permit as identified for the permit are violated, or if false information was provided in the application for initial issuance, renewal or transfer, the permit may be suspended or revoked by the Fisheries Director.
- 4. NC General Statute §113-221 requires the NC Division of Marine Fisheries to provide a current copy of the rules governing activities authorized by the license you are purchasing. You have the right to request a current rulebook in hardbound. The document is available on the Division of Marine Fisheries website on the "Rules and Regulations" webpage at http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/mf/rules-and-regulations.
- 5. I have been provided a copy of the permit rules and conditions that apply. I acknowledge failure to bide by all permit rules as well as conditions may result in suspension or revocation of the permit. For violation of specific permit conditions, permits may be suspended or revoked for 10 days, 30 days, or up to 6 months depending on the 3-year history of violations.

15A NCAC 03O .0502 Permit Conditions; General

The following conditions apply to all permits issued by the Division of Marine Fisheries:

It is unlawful to operate under the permit except in areas, at times, and under conditions specified on the permit; is unlawful to operate under a permit without having the permit or copy thereof in possession of the permittee or his or her designees at all times of operation and the permit or copy thereof shall be ready at hand for inspection, except for Pound Net Permits;

- (1) It is unlawful to operate under a permit without having a current picture identification in possession and ready at hand for inspection.
- (2) It is unlawful to refuse to allow inspection and sampling of a permitted activity by an agent of the Division;
- (3) It is unlawful to fail to provide complete and accurate information requested by the Division in connection with the permitted activity;
- (4) It is unlawful to hold a permit issued by the Fisheries Director when not eligible to hold any license required as a condition for that permit as stated in 15A NCAC 03O.0501;
- (5) It is unlawful to fail to provide reports within the timeframe required by the specific permit conditions;
- (6) It is unlawful to fail to keep such records and accounts as may be required by the Division for determination of conservation policy, equitable and efficient administration and enforcement, or promotion of commercial or recreational fisheries;
- (7) It is unlawful to assign, or transfer permits issued by the Division, except Pound Net Permits as authorized by 15A NCAC 03J .0504;
- (8) The Division, may, by conditions of the permit, specify any or all of the following for the permitted purposes:
- (a)Species (b)Quantity or Size (c)Time Period (e)Location (d)Means and Methods (f)Disposition of Resources (g)Marking Requirements (h)Harvest Conditions
- (9) Unless specifically stated as a condition on the permit, all statutes, rules and proclamations apply to the permittee and their designees.
- (10) As a condition of accepting the permit from the Division of Marine Fisheries, the permittee agrees to abide by all conditions of the permit and agrees that if specific conditions of the permit, are violated or if false information was provided in the application for initial issuance, renewal or transfer, the permit may be suspended or revoked by the Fisheries Director.

I understand that any violation of permit conditions may result in suspension or revocation of the permit.

Signature of Applicant:	Date:
NOTARY (Only NEW applications must be notarized)	
State:	County:
Sworn to and Subscribed before me this d	ay and year of,,
Notary Public:	My Commission expires:



North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality Division of Marine Fisheries COASTAL RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSE (CRFL) EXEMPTION PERMIT SPECIFIC CONDITIONS FORM (REV 2022-03)

OFFICE USE ONLY		Year	
PID #		 	
PERMIT #		 	
DMF Staff:		 	

For violation of specific permit conditions (as specified on this form), permits may be suspended or revoked for 10 days, 30 days, or up to 6 months depending on the 3-year history of violations.

Legal Authority / Statute Reference:

Authority for the Coastal Recreational Fishing License Exemption Permit is specified in G.S. 113-169.1 and through proclamation authorized by G.S. 113-221.1.

Specific Permit Conditions:

It shall be unlawful for the responsible party seeking exemption from recreational fishing license requirements for eligible individuals to conduct an organized fishing event held in Joint or Coastal Fishing Waters without first obtaining a Coastal Recreational Fishing License Exemption Permit. **15A NCAC 030.0503(d)(1)**

The Coastal Recreational Fishing License Exemption Permit shall only be issued for recreational fishing activity conducted solely for the participation and benefit of one of the following groups of eligible individuals:

Individuals with physical or mental impairment; 15A NCAC 03O.0503(d)(2)(A)

Members of the United States Armed Forces and their dependents, upon presentation of a valid military identification card; **15A NCAC 03O.0503(d)(2)(B)**

Individuals receiving instruction on recreational fishing techniques and conservation practices from employees of state or federal marine or estuarine resource management agencies or instructors affiliated with educational institutions; and; **15A NCAC 030.0503(d)(2)(C)**

Disadvantaged youths as set forth in 42 U.S. Code 12511. For the purpose of this Paragraph, educational institutions include high schools and other secondary educational institutions. **15A NCAC 030.0503(d)(2)(D)**

The Coastal Recreational Fishing License Exemption Permit shall be valid for the date, time, and physical location of the organized fishing event for which the exemption is granted, and the duration of the permit shall not exceed one year from the date of issuance. **15A NCAC 03O.0503(d)(3)**

The Coastal Recreational Fishing License Exemption Permit shall only be issued if all of the following, in addition to the information required in Rule .0501 of this Section, is submitted to the Fisheries Director, in writing, at least 30 days prior to the event:

The name, date, time, and physical location of the event; **15A NCAC 03O.0503(d)(4)(A)**

Documentation that substantiates local, state, or federal involvement in the organized fishing event, if applicable; 15A NCAC 03O.0503(d)(4)(B)

The cost or requirements, if any, for an individual to participate in the event; and **15A NCAC 03O.0503(d)(4)(C)** An estimate of the number of participants. **15A NCAC 03O.0503(d)(4)(D)**

I understand that any violation of permit conditions may result in suspension or revocation of the permit.

Signature:

Permittee signature (must be signed to be valid)

Date