Marine Fisheries

Introduce Transfer or Hold Imported Marine and Estuarine Organisms into the Coastal Waters of the State of North Carolina (INTRO Permit)

What Activities Require This Permit? Introduction into coastal waters of living marine or estuarine organisms not native to North Carolina; transfer of marine or estuarine organisms which are native, but which originated outside the state's boundaries; holding or maintaining any imported marine or estuarine organisms in a quarantine or isolation system for brood stock, aquaculture, or bait; or selling for bait any live marine or estuarine organism imported into the state.

What Is The Purpose of This Permit? To track the movement of marine and estuarine organisms that are not native to the state, or that originate from outside of the state; to protect the natural resources of the state from disease, gene mixing, and over competition.

Who Issues This Permit? N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries, Habitat and Enhancement Section

How Much Will This Permit Cost? No cost

Where Can I Get The Application For This Permit? N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries, Aquaculture, 3441 Arendell Street, Post Office Box 769, Morehead City, NC 28557; phone: 252-515-5500; 1-800-682-2632; 252-515-5478 or casey.silva@deq.nc.gov

How Long Will It Take To Review My Application? 2-3 days or less

Where Do I Submit My Application? N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries, Aquaculture, 3441 Arendell Street, Post Office Box 769, Morehead City, NC 28557-0769 or casey.silva@deq.nc.gov

How Long Is My Permit or License or Certificate Valid? Permits expire 30 days from the date the product was sample for pathology testing required by the permit process.

Notes/Comments: With few exceptions, testing is required prior to issuance of permit. Each batch must be sampled and tested within 30 days of shipment to North Carolina. Each test will consist of a minimum of 60 organisms.

Legal Authority/Statute Reference: N.C. General Statute 113-169 and 113-169.1; N.C. Marine Fisheries Commission Rules 15A NCAC 03I .0104

Link: https://deg.nc.gov/aquaculture-permits

Statewide Contact Information:

N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries Aquaculture 3441 Arendell Street Morehead City, NC 28557

Telephone: 252-515-5500; 1-800-682-2632; 252-515-5478

Or

Casey.silva@deq.nc.gov