Marine Fisheries

Standard Commercial Fishing License (SCFL)

What Activities Require This License? The Standard Commercial Fishing License allows individuals to harvest and sell fish, shrimp, crabs, shellfish, or any marine species. Non-residents cannot harvest or sell shellfish.

What Is The Purpose of This License? To license and identify commercial fishermen.

Who Issues This License? N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries, License and Statistics Section.

How Much Will This License Cost? \$400 for North Carolina residents, see Fee Sheet for non-residents: https://www.deq.nc.gov/marine-fisheries/commercial-fishing/license-fee-sheet/open \$10 replacement fee. \$10 transfer fee.

What Are My Payment Options for License Application Fees? Check, cash, or credit card.

If Paying by Check, Who do I Make the Check Payable to and Where Do I Send the Check? If applying in-person for a license at any NCDMF Office, the application and check, cash, or credit card are submitted at the time of purchase. If renewing a license by mail the applicant must submit the application and check to the NCDMF, License Office, PO Box 769, Morehead City, NC 28557. Please make all checks payable to NCDMF.

Where Can I Get The Application For This License? Contact any N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries license office. Visit the following link for license sales locations: https://www.deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries/about-division-marine-fisheries-offices.

How Long Will It Take To Review My Application? No review required for existing license holders and transfers. Applicants who do not hold the license may apply to the eligibility board which may take up to six months for review.

Where Do I Submit My Renewal Application? Any N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries License Office. Visit the following link for license sales contact information: https://www.deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries/about-division-marine-fisheries-offices.

How Long Is My License Valid? All licenses are valid for up to one year and expire on June 30th.

Notes/Comments: This license is transferable and assignable. To harvest shellfish, fishermen must elect endorsements to the SCFL. The shellfish endorsement includes harvest of scallops, clams, conchs, whelks, oysters, and mussels in North Carolina waters. Only individual North Carolina residents are eligible for this endorsement.

Legal Authority/Statute Reference: General Statute 113-168.2, NC Fisheries Rules for Coastal Waters 15A NCAC 30.0101(a).

Link: http://deg.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries

Statewide Contact Information: NC Division of Marine Fisheries License and Statistics Section

3441 Arendell Street Morehead City, NC 28557 Telephone: (252) 515-5500 or 1-800-682-2632