Marine Fisheries Land or Sell License

What Activities Require This Permit? Landing fish that were harvested outside the state territorial limits (>three miles in the ocean) aboard vessels with a homeport outside of North Carolina. Persons aboard such vessels may purchase this license before landing the catch.

What Is The Purpose of This Permit? Licensing and identification of vessels engaged in commercial fishing who fish in federal waters and land in North Carolina.

Who Issues This Permit? N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries (DMF), License and Statistics Section.

How Much Will This Permit Cost? \$400 or an amount equal to their state's charge to North Carolina fishermen, whichever is greater.

What Are My Payment Options for Permit Application Fees? Check, cash, or credit card.

If Paying by Check, Who do I Make the Check Payable to and Where Do I Send the Check? If applying inperson for a license at any NCDMF Office, the application and check, cash, or credit card are submitted at the time of purchase. If renewing a permit or license by mail the applicant must submit the application and check to the NCDMF, License Office, PO Box 769, Morehead City, NC 28557. Please make all checks payable to NCDMF.

Where Can I Get The Application For This Permit? Contact any N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries license office. Visit the following link for license sales location: <u>https://www.deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries/about-</u> <u>divisionmarine-fisheries/division-marine-fisheries-offices</u>.

How Long Will It Take To Review My Application? No review required for this license.

Where Do I Submit My Application? Any N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries License Office. Visit the following link for license sales contact information: <u>https://www.deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries/about-divisionmarine-fisheries-offices</u>.

How Long Is My Permit or License or Certificate Valid? All licenses are valid for up to one year and expire on June 30.

Notes/Comments: This license is non-transferable. The replacement fee is \$10.

Legal Authority/Statute Reference: General Statute 113-169.5, NC Fisheries Rules for Coastal Waters 15A NCAC 30.0101(a).

Link: http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries

Statewide Contact Information: NC Division of Marine Fisheries License and Statistics Section

3441 Arendell Street Morehead City, NC 28557 Telephone: (252) 515-5500 or 1-800-682-2632