Marine Fisheries

Shellfish License for North Carolina Residents Without a Standard Commercial Fishing License (SCFL)

What Activities Require This License? The Shellfish License for North Carolina residents without a Standard Commercial Fishing License (SCFL) allows the commercial harvest and sale of shellfish, such as clams, oysters, mussels, conchs, whelks, and scallops. The shellfish license holder does not need a Standard Commercial Fishing License (SCFL) or Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License (RSCFL) to harvest and sell commercial quantities of shellfish.

What Is The Purpose of This License? To license and identify North Carolina resident commercial fishermen who wish to harvest commercial quantities of shellfish for sale. Another purpose is to provide a lower cost license for shellfish harvesting than the SCFL.

Who Issues This License? N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries (DMF), License and Statistics Section.

How Much Will This License Cost? \$50 for residents; nonresidents are not eligible for this license. \$10 replacement fee.

What Are My Payment Options for License Application Fees? Check, cash, or credit card.

If Paying by Check, Who do I Make the Check Payable to and Where Do I Send the Check? If applying inperson for a license at any NCDMF Office, the application and check, cash, or credit card are submitted at the time of purchase. If renewing a license by mail the applicant must submit the application and check to the NCDMF, License Office, PO Box 769, Morehead City, NC 28557. Please make all checks payable to NCDMF.

Where Can I Get The Application For This License? Contact any N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries license office. Visit the following link for license sales locations: https://www.deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries/about-division-marine-fisheries-offices.

How Long Will It Take To Review My Application? No review required for this license. Any North Carolina resident may obtain this license.

Where Do I Submit My Application? Any N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries License Office. Visit the following link for license sales contact information: https://www.deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries/about-division-marine-fisheries-offices.

How Long Is My License Valid? All licenses are valid for up to one year and expire on June 30th.

Notes/Comments: This license is non-transferable. A Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration is required for vessels used to harvest shellfish for commercial purposes. Military personnel whose home base is in NC are eligible to purchase a shellfish license. Businesses are ineligible for Shellfish Licenses.

Legal Authority/Statute Reference: General Statute 113-169.2, NC Fisheries Rules for Coastal Waters 15A NCAC 30.0101(a).

Link: http://deg.nc.gov/about/divisions/marine-fisheries

Statewide Contact Information:

NC Division of Marine Fisheries License and Statistics Section 3441 Arendell Street Morehead City, NC 28557

Telephone: (252) 515-5500 or 1-800-682-2632