Local Permit Officers

Northern SectionNortheastern SectionCentral SectionSouthern Section

NORTHERN SECTION

DISTRICT MANAGER: Jonathan Howell
FIELD REPRESENTATIVES: Steve Trowell; Kelly Spivey (District LPO Coordinator); Kevin Hart
EXPRESS PERMIT COORDINATOR: Jonathan Howell 
FISHERIES RESOURCE SPECIALIST: Shane Staples
FIELD SPECIALIST: Steve Trowell 
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT: Sherry Tyson
DEQ, Washington Regional Office
943 Washington Square Mall
Washington, NC 27889
COURIER: 16-04-01
TELEPHONE: (252) 946-6481
FAX: (252) 975-3716
JURISDICTION: [by county, including all towns within these counties: Beaufort, Bertie, Hertford, Hyde, Tyrrell, Washington]

CITY OF WASHINGTON
P. O. Box 1988
Washington, NC  27889-1988
TELEPHONE:  (252) 975-9304
FAX:  (252) 946-1965
LPO:  Allen Pittman
E-mail: apittman@washingtonnc.gov

BERTIE COUNTY:

COUNTY OF BERTIE
P. O. Box 530
Windsor, NC  27983
TELEPHONE:  (252) 794-5303
FAX:  (252) 794-5361
LPO:  G. T. Pittman, Traci White, Sandy Bryant
E-mail: gt.pittman@bertie.nc.govtraci.white@bertie.nc.govsandy.h.bryant@bertie.nc.gov

HERTFORD COUNTY:

Building Inspector's Office
P. O. Box 424
Winton, NC  27986
TELEPHONE:  (252) 358-7814;
FAX:  (252) 358-7806
LPO: Paul Vaughan,
E-mail: paul.vaughan@hertfordcountync.gov     

HYDE COUNTY:

COUNTY OF HYDE
(Permits are written by Washington DCM Field Office)

TYRRELL COUNTY:

(Permits are written by DCM Washington Field Office)

WASHINGTON COUNTY:

(Permits are written by DCM Washington Field Office)
 

NORTHEASTERN SECTION

DISTRICT MANAGER: Frank Jennings
FIELD REPRESENTATIVES: Yvonne Carver (District LPO Coordinator), Cynthia Rountree, Ron Renaldi, Greg Daisey (NCDOT Project Coordinator)
FIELD SPECIALIST: Lynn Mathis
DISTRICT PLANNER: Charlan Owens
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT: Ella Godfrey
DCM, Elizabeth City District Office
1367 U.S. Hwy. 17 South
Elizabeth City, NC 27909
TELEPHONE: (252) 264-3901
FAX: (252) 264-3723
JURISDICTION: [by county, including all towns within these counties: Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Pasquotank, Perquimans]

CAMDEN COUNTY:

(Permits are written by DCM Elizabeth City Field Office)

CHOWAN COUNTY:

COUNTY OF CHOWAN
P.O. Box 1030
Edenton, NC 27932
LPO: Holly Colombo
TELEPHONE: (252) 482-5618
FAX: (252) 482-5697
E-mail: holly.colombo@chowan.nc.gov

CURRITUCK COUNTY:

COUNTY OF CURRITUCK
P. O. Box 70
Currituck, NC  27929
LPO: Stacey Smith; Debbie Lashomb; Bill Newns; Ron Schaecher; Richard Godsey
TELEPHONE: Stacey: (252) 232-6027; Debbie: (252) 232-6026; Bill: (252) 232-6023; Ron: (252) 232-6024; Richard: (252) 232-6020
FAX:  (252) 232-3026
Email: stacey.smith@currituckcountync.gov; debbie.lashomb@currituckcountync.gov; bill.newns@currituckcountync.gov; ronald.schaecher@currituckcountync.gov; richard.godsey@currituckcountync.gov                                  

CURRITUCK COUNTY INSPECTIONS OFFICE (satellite office)
P. O. Box 73
Corolla, NC  27927
LPO:  Jennie Newbern Turner; Tod Burns
TELEPHONE:  Jennie: (252) 232-6031; Tod: (252) 232-6053
FAX:  (252) 453-8300
E-mail: jennie.turner@currituckcountync.gov; tod.burns@currituckcountync.gov         

DARE COUNTY:

COUNTY OF DARE
P.O. Box 1000
Manteo, NC 27954
LPO: Corky Whitehead, Fred Featherstone, Donna Creef
TELEPHONE: Corky: (252) 475-5879; Fred: (252) 475-5876; Donna: (252) 475-5873
FAX: (252) 449-0207
E-mail: corkyw@darenc.comfredf@darenc.comdonnac@darenc.com

TOWN OF DUCK
P. O. Box 8369
Duck, NC  27949
LPO: Sandy Cross (ext. 226) Joe Heard, Director of Community Development
TELEPHONE: (252) 255-1234
FAX: (252) 255-1236
Email: scross@townofduck.comjheard@townofduck.com

TOWN OF NAGS HEAD
P.O. Box 99
Nags Head, NC 27959
LPO:  Todd Krafft (252-449-6047), David Morton (252-449-6043), Kelly Wyatt (252-449-6042), Lily Nieberding (252-449-6048)
TELEPHONE:  (252) 441-5508 (or) 441-7016
FAX:  (252) 441-7290
Email: todd.krafft@nagsheadnc.gov; david.morton@nagsheadnc.gov; kelly.wyatt@nagsheadnc.gov;lily.nieberding@nagsheadnc.gov

TOWN OF SOUTHERN SHORES
5375 N. Virginia Dare Trail
Southern Shores, NC  27949
LPO: Dabni Shelton & Wes Haskett
TELEPHONE: (252) 261-2394; (252) 261-4850
FAX: (252) 255-0876
E-mail: dshelton@southernshores-nc.govwhaskett@southernshores-nc.gov

TOWN OF KILL DEVIL HILLS
P.O. Box 1719
Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
LPO: Donna Elliott, Meredith Guns, Bryan Brightbill; Cameron Ray 
TELEPHONE:  (252) 449-5318; Cameron: (252) 449-5318
FAX:  (252) 441-4102
Email: meredith@kdhnc.comdonna@kdhnc.combryan@kdhnc.comcameron@kdhnc.com

TOWN OF KITTY HAWK
P. O. Box 549
Kitty Hawk, NC  27949
LPO: Ben Alexander
TELEPHONE:  (252) 261-3552
FAX:  (252) 261-7900
Email: balexander@kittyhawktown.net

GATES COUNTY:

(Permits written by DCM Elizabeth City Field Office)

PASQUOTANK COUNTY:

COUNTY OF PASQUOTANK
(Permits written by DCM Elizabeth City Field Office)

CITY OF ELIZABETH CITY
P. O. Box 347
Elizabeth City, NC  27909
LPO: David Lewis, Brent Thornton, Stanley Ward
TELEPHONE:  (252) 337-6868
FAX:  (252) 338-1857
E-mail: dlewis@cityofec.combthornton@cityofec.comsward@cityofec.com

PERQUIMANS COUNTY:

COUNTY OF PERQUIMANS
(Permits written by Elizabeth City DCM Field Office)
 

CENTRAL SECTION

DIRECTOR: Braxton Davis
DISTRICT MANAGER: Roy Brownlow/ Enforcement and Complaince Coordinator 
FIELD REPRESENTATIVES: Brad Connell; Heather Styron; Ryan Davenport (Field Specialist); Stephen Lane (NC DOT Project Coordinator)
FIELD SPECIALIST: Ryan Davenport 
DISTRICT PLANNER:  Rachel Love-Adrick
DIRECTOR'S SECRETARY: Angela Willis
OFFICE MANAGER: Ronda Bennett
DCM, Morehead City Headquarters
400 Commerce Ave.
Morehead City, NC 28557
COURIER: 11-12-09
TELEPHONE: (252) 808-2808
FAX: (252) 247-3330
JURISDICTION: [by county, including all towns within these counties: Carteret, Craven, Onslow (mainland), Pamlico]

CARTERET COUNTY:

TOWN OF ATLANTIC BEACH
P. O. Box 10
Atlantic Beach, NC  28512
LPO: Michelle Shreve
TELEPHONE:  (252) 726-4456
FAX:  (252) 727-7043
Email: planner2@atlanticbeach-nc.com

COUNTY OF CARTERET
Planning & Inspections, Courthouse Square
402 Broad Street
Beaufort, NC 28516
LPO:J. D. O’Neal, Kathy Richardson, Sheila Slater; Gene Foxworth; Gregg Hartman; Jeff Brown; Chris Jones; Town Manager: Russell Overman

TELEPHONE:  (252) 728-8545
FAX:  (252) 728-6643
E-mail: jdoneal@carteretcountync.gov;  kathyr@carteretcountync.gov ; sheila.slater@carteretcountync.goveugene.foxworth@carteretcountync.gov; gregg.hartman@carteretcountync.gov; jeffrey.brown@carteretcountync.gov; gerald.jones@carteretcountync.gov    

WESTERN OFFICE: Tracy Barnes, Sammy Graham, Dean Lombreglia
TELEPHONE: (252) 222-5833
FAX: (252) 393-3205
Email: terri.fesmire-kennedy@carteretcountync.gov; tracyb@carteretcountync.govsammyg@carteretcountync.govdean.lombreglia@carteretcountync.gov

TOWN OF CAPE CARTERET
102 Dolphin Street
Cape Carteret, NC 28584
LPO: VACANT (Issued by CC Western Office)
Town Manager: Mike King (Interim)
TELEPHONE: (252) 393-7901; FAX: (252) 393-6799            

 

TOWN OF EMERALD ISLE
7500 Emerald Drive
Emerald Isle, NC  28594
LPO: Josh Edmondson
Town Manager: Frank Rush
Phone: (252) 354-3338
Fax: (252)354-5387
Email: jedmondson@emeraldisle-nc.org            

 

Town of Morehead City
706 Arendell St.
Morehead City, NC  28557
LPO: Jeannie Drake (Ext. 138); Ethan Brogden (Ext. 119); Meredith Dillon (Ext. 125); John Varner (Ext. 136); Linda Staab (Ext. 121)
Town Manager: J. WhitlowTELEPHONE:  (252) 726-6848; FAX:  (252) 726-2267
Email: jeannie.drake@moreheadcitync.org; ethan.brogden@moreheadcitync.org ; meredith.dillon@moreheadcitync.org ; john.varner@moreheadcitync.org; linda.staab@moreheadcitync.org         

 

TOWN OF PINE KNOLL SHORES
100 Municipal Circle
Pine Knoll Shores, NC  28512
LPO: Sarah Williams; Jim Taylor
Town Manager: Brian Kramer
TELEPHONE:  (252) 247-4353   Ext. 20
FAX:  (252) 247-4355
Email: swilliams@townofpks.com; biceo@townofpks.com (Jim Taylor)                    

CRAVEN COUNTY:

COUNTY OF CRAVEN
Planning & Inspections
2828 Neuse Blvd.
New Bern, NC  28560
LPO: Chad Strawn (Asst. Planning Director), Jason Frederick, Donnie LaVelle
TELEPHONE:  (252) 636-6618; FAX:  (252) 636-5190
E-mail: cstrawn@cravencountync.gov; jfrederick@cravencountync.gov; dlavelle@cravcencountync.gov;

 

CITY OF NEW BERN        
P. O. Box 1129
New Bern, NC  28563
LPO:  Alton Ray Wilson; Matthew Boswell
TELEPHONE:  (252) 639-2941; FAX: (252) 635-4973
Email: wilsona@newbern-nc.org. BoswellM@newbern-nc.org           

                   

TOWN OF RIVERBEND
45 Shoreline Drive
River Bend, NC 28562
LPO: Chris Harmon
Tele: (252) 638-3870 Ext. 216
Email: zoning@riverbendnc.org,

 

ONSLOW COUNTY:

COUNTY OF ONSLOW (above New River Inlet)
604 College Street
Jacksonville, NC 28540
LPO: Jennifer Ansell, Gregory Smith, Sammy Rogers
TELEPHONE: (910)347-6782
FAX: (910) 347-5759
E-mail: jennifer_ansell@co.onslow.nc.usgregory_smithl@co.onslow.nc.ussammy_rogers@co.onslow.nc.us

CITY OF JACKSONVILLE (above New River Inlet)
P.O. Box 128
Jacksonville, NC 28541-0128
LPO: Pat Donovan-Potts, Jeanette Hall, Tami Dubois, Shannon Myers
TELEPHONE:  (910) 938-5235
FAX: (910) 938-5208
E-mail: pdonovan-potts@ci.jacksonville.nc.usjhall@ci.jacksonville.nc.us
tdubois@ci.jacksonville.nc.us; smyers@ci.jacksonville.nc.us 

 

PAMLICO COUNTY:

COUNTY OF PAMLICO
P.O. Box 776
Bayboro, NC 28515
LPO: Skip Lee, Jolene Sawyer, Ray Bennett
TELEPHONE: (252) 745-3861
FAX: (252) 745-7067
E-mail: pamlicobi@yahoo.com
 

SOUTHERN SECTION

DISTRICT MANAGER: Debbie Wilson
FIELD REPRESENTATIVES: Robb Mairs; Jason Dail; Sean Farrell
EXPRESS PERMIT COORDINATOR: Debbie Wilson (District LPO Coordinator)
DISTRICT PLANNER: Mike Christenbury
ENVIRONMENTAL TECHNICIAN: Shaun Simpson (District LPO Assistance)
FIELD SPECIALIST: Tara MacPherson
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT: Ken Lee 
DEQ-DCM, Wilmington Regional Office
127 Cardinal Drive Extension
Wilmington, NC 28405-3845
COURIER: 04-16-33
TELEPHONE: 910-796-7215
FAX: (910) 395-3964
JURISDICTION: by county, Brunswick, New Hanover, Pender, and Onslow (Below New River Inlet)

BRUNSWICK COUNTY:

COUNTY OF BRUNSWICK
P.O. Box 249
Bolivia, NC 28422
LPO: Connie Marlowe
TELEPHONE: (910) 253-2034 or 1-800-621-0609
FAX: (910) 253-2024
E-mail: connie.marlowe@brunswickcountync.gov

VILLAGE OF BALD HEAD ISLAND
P.O. Box 3009
Bald Head Island, NC 28461
LPO: Chris McCall, Stephen Boyett 
TELEPHONE: (910) 457-9700 or (910) 457-6255
FAX: (910) 457-6206
E-mail: cmccallvbhi@bellsouth.netsboyett@villagebhi.org

TOWN OF CALABASH
882 Persimmon Road 
Calabash, NC 28467
LPO: Stanley Dills, George Mabes
TELEPHONE:  (910) 579-0500
FAX:  (910) 579-5495
E-Mail: bicalabash@atmc.net (Stanley), towncalabash@atmc.net (Barbra)

TOWN OF CASWELL BEACH
(Permits written by DCM Wilmington Field Office)

TOWN OF HOLDEN BEACH
110 Rothschild Street
Holden Beach, NC 28462
LPO: Rhonda Wooten
TELEPHONE: (910) 842-6080
FAX: (910) 842-7033
E-mail: rhonda.wooten@hbtownhall.com

TOWN OF OAK ISLAND
4601 E. Oak Island Dr.
Oak Island, NC  28465
LPO: Donna Coleman, Steve Edwards, Julie Edge
TELEPHONE: (910) 278-5024
FAX: (910) 278-1811
E-Mail: sedwards@ci.oak-island.nc.usjedge@ci.oak-island.nc.us
dcoleman@ci.oak-island.nc.us

TOWN OF OCEAN ISLE BEACH
Ocean Isle Beach Town Hall
3 West Third Street
Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
LPO: Justin Whiteside, Larry Cook, Keith Dycus
TELEPHONE: (910) 579-3469
FAX: (910) 579-2940
E-mail: jwhiteside@oibgov.comlarry@oibgov.com

TOWN OF SHALLOTTE
(Permits written Wilmington DCM Office, 910-796-7270)

CITY OF SOUTHPORT
1029 N. Howe St., Suite 100B
Southport, NC 28461
LPO: Wayne Strickland
TELEPHONE: (910) 457-7900
FAX: (910) 457-7905
E-mail: Wayne_Strickland@southportnc.org

TOWN OF SUNSET BEACH
220 Shoreline Drive West
Sunset Beach, NC 28459
LPO:  Richard Hathcock
TELEPHONE:  (910) 579-0068 or 579-0075
FAX:  (910) 579-1840
E-mail: rhathcock@atmc.net
 

NEW HANOVER COUNTY:

COUNTY OF NEW HANOVER
Inspections Dept.
New Hanover County Administration Annex
230 Market Place Drive, Suite 110
Wilmington, NC 28403
LPO: Patricia Roberts, Christine Bouffard, Linda Painter
Administrative Assistant: Denise Brown
TELEPHONE:  (910) 798-7118 x 2
FAX:  (910) 798-7060
E-mail  , proberts@nhcgov.comcbouffard@nhcgov.com
lpainter@nhcgov.comdbrown@nhcgov.com

TOWN OF CAROLINA BEACH
1121 N. Lake Park Boulevard
Carolina Beach, NC  28428
LPO:  Jeremy Hardison, Abbey Lorenzo
TELEPHONE:  (910) 458-2991 (Planning Dept.) (910) 458-2978
FAX:  (910) 458-2997
E-mail: jeremy.hardison@carolinabeach.org, abbey.lorenzo@carolinabeach.org

TOWN OF KURE BEACH
117 Settlers Lane
Kure Beach, NC  28449
LPO:  John J. Batson
TELEPHONE:  (910) 458-6535
FAX:  (910) 458-4269
E-mail: johnbatson@townofkurebeach.org

TOWN OF WRIGHTSVILLE BEACH
P.O. Box 626
Wrightsville Beach, NC  28480
LPO: Tony Wilson, Zachary Steffey
TELEPHONE:  (910) 509-5019
FAX:  (910) 256-6848
E-mail: twilson@towb.org, zsteffy@towb.org
 

ONSLOW COUNTY:

COUNTY OF ONSLOW (below New River Inlet)
234 NW Corridor Blvd. 
Jacksonville, NC 28540
LPO: Jennifer Ansell, Gregory Smith, Sammy Rogers 
TELEPHONE: (910) 989-3069; (910) 989-0375, (910) 989-3065
FAX: (910) 989-3196
E-mail: jennifer_ansell@co.onslow.nc.usgregory_smithl@co.onslow.nc.ussammy_rogers@co.onslow.nc.us

CITY OF JACKSONVILLE (below New River Inlet)
P.O. Box 128
Jacksonville, NC 28541-0128
LPO: Pat Donovan-Potts, Jeanette Hall, , Shannon Myers
TELEPHONE:  (910) 938-6446
FAX: (910) 938-5208
E-mail: pdonovan-potts@ci.jacksonville.nc.usjhall@ci.jacksonville.nc.us
 smyers@ci.jacksonville.nc.us

PENDER COUNTY:

COUNTY OF PENDER (No longer in LPO program) 
P. O. Box 1519
Burgaw, NC  28425
LPO: Ken Vafier, Ashley Frank, Benjamin Andrea, Ashley Moncado
TELEPHONE:  (910) 259-1202
FAX:  (910) 259-1295
Email: kvafier@pendercountync.govafrank@pendercountync.gov
bandrea@pendercountync.govamoncado@pendercountync.gov

TOWN OF HOLLY RIDGE   
P. O. Box 145   
Holly Ridge, NC 28445   
LPO: Larry Willaford; Randall Gray   
TELEPHONE: (910) 329-7081; FAX: (910)329-1593   
E-Mail: larryWwillaford@yahoo.com

TOWN OF SURF CITY 
TOWN OF TOPSAIL BEACH 
TOWN OF NORTH TOPSAIL BEACH
COUNTY OF PENDER 
(Jason Dail:  Wilmington DCM Office)
(
910) 796-7221