Previous Phase II Designations


2010 Designations

The following communities were designated as Phase II entities by the Environmental Management Commission (EMC) on January 14, 2010 and must apply for an NPDES Phase II MS4 permit:

Benson Rutherfordton
Butner Shelby
Clayton Spindale
Creedmoor Trent Woods
Elizabeth City Wendell
Roxboro Zebulon

Please note:  The Division changed its recommendation to the EMC's Water Quality Committee (WQC) for Nags Head, originally recommended for designation in published material prepared for the Committee prior to the January 13, 2010 meeting.  The change was based on information about the town's current stormwater program, received by Stormwater Permitting Unit staff on January 11, 2010.  Nags Head was not designated by the EMC.  Notification letters to all candidates about the EMC's decision were sent out February 16, 2010.

Decisions on the five Neuse NSW candidates were delayed until SPU staff could conduct evaluations of the stormwater programs in place.  On March 11, 2010, the EMC agreed with DWQ's recommendation not to designate the towns of Havelock, Kinston, New Bern, Smithfield, and Wilson.  Notification letters to affected communities were sent out March 22, 2010.

Presentation to WQC on January 13, 2010.  Attachments provided can be found here.
Presentation to EMC on January 14, 2010.  Attachments provided can be found here.
Press Release about Final Designations on February 23, 2010.
Presentation to WQC on March 10, 2010.

Original 2009 Phase II Designation Public Notice (PDF of old website).  Website no longer accessible as of Nov. 30, 2011.

2010 Delineations of MSI boundaries

The EMC also approved delineations of "Municipal Sphere of Influence" (MSI) areas around designated cities and towns.  In these areas, Phase II post-construction requirements of Session Law 2006-246 will go into effect at the time the post-construction measure of the Phase II MS4 permit for each municipality is effective. When these requirements are effective, we will also update our Interactive Stormwater Permitting Map.

1-mile around Benson 1-mile around Rutherfordton
1-mile around Butner 2-miles around Shelby
1-mile around Clayton 1-mile around Spindale
1-mile around Creedmoor 1-mile around Trent Woods
No MSI around Elizabeth City 1-mile around Wendell
1-mile around Roxboro 1-mile around Zebulon

2007 Designations

Kings Mountain (2007)
Mooresville (2007)
Henderson (2007)