Donate to Hurricane Recovery

Contact Us

North Carolina Geological Survey
Office Directory, Staffing and Responsibilities

 


The North Carolina Geological Survey has three offices statewide, two in Raleigh, and a third in Swannanoa, near Asheville. The primary responsibilities of each office are listed below. Use this directory to locate the office which can best serve you.

 


 

Operations Branch - Main Office, Map and Publication Sales

Phone: 919-707-9210

Mailing Address: 1612 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1612

Physical Address: 512 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27604-7687

Responsibilities - Main Office

Staffing - Main Office - North Carolina Geological Survey Operations Branch
 

Geological Survey - Main Office

Staff Member

Position

Responsibilities

E-mail Address

Telephone

Dr. Kenneth B. Taylor, PG

NCBLG# 1835

State Geologist

Geological Survey Section Manager

kenneth.b.taylor@ncdenr.gov

919-707-9211

Randy Bechtel, CEE

Project Geologist

Earth Science Education and Public Outreach; Piedmont Geologic Mapping - STATEMAP Project

randy.bechtel@ncdenr.gov

919-707-9204

Michael Medina

Engineering Technician

Map and Publication Sales, GIS Support

michael.medina@ncdenr.gov

919-707-9203

Phil Bradley, PG

NCBLG# 1407

Senior Geologist

Assistant Section Chief and Piedmont Geologist - Geologic Mapping - Statemap Project

pbradley@ncdenr.gov

919-707-9241

Dr. Jeff Reid, PG

NCBLG# 1340

Senior Geologist

Energy and Mineral Resources

jeff.reid@ncdenr.gov

919-707-9205

Joyce Sanford

Administrative Assistant

Office Administration

joyce.sanford@ncdenr.gov

919-707-9210

Ryan Channell, PG

NCBLG # 2388

Senior Geologist for Oil & Gas Regulations

Oversight of Oil and Gas Program supporting the Oil and Gas Commission

ryan.channell@ncdenr.gov

919-707-9231

Mailing Address: 1612 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1612
Physical Address: 512 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27604-7687 - 919-707-9210

Publication Sales: 919-707-9203 e-mail address:Michael.Medina@ncdenr.gov

Visit our online store!  (This link opens in a new browser window)

 


 

Geological Survey - Coastal Plain Office - Core Repository

Phone: 919-733-7353

Mailing Address: 1620 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1620

Physical Address: 4100-A, Reedy Creek Road,

Raleigh, NC 27607-6411

Responsibilities - Coastal Plain Office - Core Repository

  • Geologic mapping and mineral resource studies of the Coastal Plain, Piedmont Province, and Triassic basins
  • Geology and mineral resources of the continental shelf,
  • Repository - houses state-wide collection of subsurface data (rock core, drill cuttings, vibracores, geophysical logs, and other types of samples), and
  • Public service and education.

Staffing - Coastal Plain Office - Core Repository

Geological Survey - Coastal Plain Office - Core Repository

Staff Member

Position

Responsibilities

E-mail Address

Telephone

Dr. Kathleen Farrell, PG

NCBLG# 1747

Senior Geologist

Coastal Plain Stratigraphy, Sedimentology and Geomorphology – Coastal Cooperative Study (NCGS-USGS-ECU); PI for STATEMAP Coastal Plain Mapping Project

kathleen.farrell@ncdenr.gov

919-733-7353 ext. 29

Kenny Gay, PG

NCBLG# 1393

Geologist I

Heavy mineral studies; Upper and Middle Coastal Plain studies

kenny.gay@ncdenr.gov

919-733-7353 ext. 28          

Brandon Peach

Geologist I

Piedmont Geologic Mapping - STATEMAP Project

brandon.peach@ncdenr.gov

919-733-7353 ext. 30

Eric Thornton

Geologist I

Coastal Plain Geologic Mapping and Stratigraphy - STATEMAP Project 

Erik.Thornton@ncdenr.gov
 

919-733-7353 ext. 23

Mailing Address: 1620 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1620
Physical Address: 4100-A, Reedy Creek Road, Raleigh, NC 27607-6411 - 919-733-7353

 


Geological Survey - Asheville Regional Office

Main Telephone: 828.296.4500

Address: 2090 US Highway 70, Swannanoa, NC 28778

Responsibilities - Asheville Regional Office

  • Geologic mapping and mineral resources of the mountain region of North Carolina
  • Geologic hazards mapping, including landslides
  • Public service and education
  • Earth Science Information Center (ESIC) affiliate office

Staffing - Asheville Regional Office
 

Geological Survey - Asheville Regional Office

Staff Member

Position 

Responsibilities

E-mail Address

Telephone

Rick Wooten, PG

NCBLG# 1385

Senior Geologist

Geohazards and Engineering Geology; Blue Ridge Province Geologic Mapping - STATEMAP Project

rick.wooten@ncdenr.gov

828-296-4632

Bart Cattanach, PG

NCBLG# 2060

Senior Geologist

Project Leader; Blue Ridge Province Geologic Mapping - STATEMAP Project

bart.cattanach@ncdenr.gov

828-296-4634

Nick Bozdog, GISP

Project Geologist

GIS Support; Blue Ridge Province Geologic Mapping - STATEMAP Project

nick.bozdog@ncdenr.gov

828-296-4635

Sierra Isard, PG

NCBLG# 2503

Geologist I 

Blue Ridge Province Geologic Mapping -
STATEMAP Project

sierra.isard@ncdenr.gov

828-296-4629

         

Address: 2090 US Highway 70, Swannanoa, NC 28778
Main Telephone: 828-296-4500

 

NCGS . 1612 Mail Service Center . Raleigh, NC 27699-1612 . 919.707-9210