Outstanding Educator Awards

2016 N.C. Outstanding Earth Science Teacher
and NAGT Southeastern Section Winner 
Ms. Lindsay Knippenberg
Mooresville Senior High School, Iredell County
Photo of Lindsay Knippenberg







2016 N.C. Outstanding Earth Science Educator
Mr. Roger Shew
UNC-Wilmington, New Hanover County
Photo of Roger Shew




Nov. 6 awards ceremony, 2014 winners gathered with several past year's winners.
Past years' winners gather at the 2014 awards ceremony. (Front L-R: Mark Case, Tim Martin, Kathy Bosiak and Judy McDonald. Back L-R: Cynthia Woolery, Josh Roberts, Sam Fuerst, Ann McClung, Cliff Hudson, Mark Townley, Carrie Jones.) Photo: Randy Bechtel

2017 Nominations

If you know of an outstanding earth science teacher or educator, please complete and submit the nomination form. You may also nominate yourself. 

Nomination Form

Awards Program Description

Nomination deadline for 2017 awards is March 31, 2017. Winners will be notified during summer 2017. OEST award winner are automatically considered for sectional honors in the Southeastern NAGT competition. Previous winners are not eligible to enter. All nominations will be kept on file and eligible for three years. Supplemental materials may be submitted. Previous winners are not eligible for consideration. For more information on the awards and nomination process, please see the awards program description.

Previous Award Winners