Donate to Hurricane Recovery

Water Quality Permitting

The Water Quality Permitting Section consists of six branches with staff located in the central offices in Raleigh, as well as DEQ's seven regional offices.

The Non-Discharge Permitting Branch is responsible for the permitting and compliance of residual and wastewater effluent land application facilities, as well as the beneficial use of reclaimed water. Information: 919-707-3654

The Complex Permitting Branch is responsible for major/minor National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System wastewater permitting, special technical issues, Level B modeling and policy implementation. Information: 919-707-3601

The Compliance and Expedited Permitting Branch is responsible for permitting and compliance in accordance with the federal National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System. Information: 919-707-3601

The Pretreatment, Emergency Response, and Collection Systems Branch controls and documents the discharge of wastewater from Significant and Categorical Industrial Users to the Publicly Owned Treatment Works, is responsible for the various permitting programs for wastewater collection systems,  oversees wastewater collection construction, operation, maintenance and enforcement and coordinates the division's emergency response operations. Information: 919-707-3601

The 401 & Buffer Permitting Branch is responsible for implementing the state waters, wetlands and riparian buffer regulatory programs and assisting with compliance and enforcement procedures. Information: 919-807-6303

The Transportation Permitting Branch assists the NC DOT with the planning and permitting of their projects. It also houses two special projects: the Headwater Stream Spatial Dataset program and the Watershed Assessment Team. Information: 919-707-8785