Non-discharge Permitting

The Non-Discharge Permitting Unit is responsible for the permitting and compliance of residual and wastewater effluent land application facilities. The unit is also responsible for permitting facilities for the beneficial use of reclaimed water for the purpose of conserving the state's potable water, surface water and groundwater resources.

For questions about the Non-Discharge Permitting Unit, please contact Kendall Williams at 919-807-6332.

For technical questions, please contact the following staff:

Non-Discharge Permitting Unit: Staff Directory

Name Contact Information Primary Contact Secondary Contact
Nathaniel Thornburg

Unit Supervisor
(919) 807-6453
nathaniel.thornburg@ncdenr.gov

NDPU Programs Policies & Rules
Kendall Williams Processing Assistant
(919) 807-6332
kendall.williams@ncdenr.gov
Administrative Support  
Troy
Doby, PE
Environmental Engineer
(919) 807-6336
troy.doby@ncdenr.gov
Residuals Management Wastewater Irrigation
David
Goodrich, PG
Hydrogeologist
(919) 807-6352
david.goodrich@ncdenr.gov
Hydrogeologic Issues Closed-Loop Recycle
Sonia
Gregory
Environmental Senior Specialist
(919) 807-6319
sonia.gregory@ncdenr.gov
Compliance / Reporting Residuals Management
Ashley
Kabat
Environmental Engineer
(919) 807-6348
ashley.kabat@ncdenr.gov
Single-Family Residence Wastewater Irrigation Reclaimed Water
Tessa
Monday
Environmental Engineer
(919) 807-6302
tessa.monday@ncdenr.gov
Reclaimed Water & Wastewater Irrigation High-Rate Infiltration
Vacant

Environmental Engineer
(919) 807-6384

High-Rate Infiltration & Reclaimed Water Wastewater Irrigation & Rules
Alice
Wessner
Environmental Engineer
(919) 807-6425
alice.wessner@ncdenr.gov
Single-Family Residence Wastewater Irrigation Reclaimed Water Distribution

Mailing Address:

By U.S. Postal Service:

Division of Water Resources- Non-Discharge Permitting Unit

1617 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1617

 

By Courier/Special Delivery:  

Division of Water Resources- Non-Discharge Permitting Unit

Att: Nathaniel Thornburg- 6th Floor, Office #640N

512 S. Salisbury St. Raleigh, NC 27604