Donate to Hurricane Recovery

N.C. Mining and Energy Commission Elects Chairman, Sets 2012 Meeting Dates


RALEIGH – The N.C. Mining and Energy Commission today elected Jim Womack – a Lee County Commissioner from Sanford – as its chairman, but deferred electing a vice chairman until its next meeting, scheduled for Nov. 2.

Following his election as MEC Chairman, Womack appointed Ivan “Tex” Gilmore as chairman of the commission’s Mining Committee, and William “Mack” McNeely III as the committee’s vice chairman.

A vice chairman for the Mining and Energy Commission was not chosen at this meeting, when a tie vote occurred following the nomination of George Howard and Charlotte Mitchell for this position. The commission voted to defer the election of a vice chairman to its next meeting.

Also during this meeting, staff with the N.C. Department of Environment and Natural Resources presented a proposed work plan, committee structure and future meeting schedule for the commission’s consideration. The commission voted to schedule its next meeting for Nov. 2, and its final 2012 meeting for Dec. 18-19. The December meeting will consist of committee meetings the first day, with the full commission meeting on the final day. Both November and December meetings will be held in the Ground Floor Hearing Room of the Archdale Building, located at 512 N. Salisbury St. in Raleigh.

The “Clean Energy and Economic Security Act,” or Session Law 2012-143 , created the MEC and charged it with developing a modern regulatory program for the management of oil and gas exploration and development activities in North Carolina, including the use of horizontal drilling and hydraulic fracturing. Information about the Mining and Energy Commission, including the meeting agendas and materials presented at each meeting, can be found online at .

This press release is related to: