North Carolina Hazardous Waste Transfer Facility Form Information

In North Carolina, a <u>hazardous waste transfer facility</u> is a facility or location where a hazardous waste transporter stores hazardous waste for a period of more than 24 hours but less than 10 days. (North Carolina General Statute (N.C.G.S.) 130A-290(13a)).

Forms associated with the hazardous waste transfer facility activity can be found at this NCDEQ website link: https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/waste-management/hw/forms

- The forms associated with North Carolina hazardous waste transfer facilities are required by Session Law 2007-107 (House Bill 36) amending N.C.G.S. 130A-295.05 and must be completed and submitted by the transfer facility and/or the transporter using the transfer facility.
 - The Hazardous Waste Section will assign a new North Carolina hazardous waste transfer facility an identification number beginning with the letters "NCTF" followed by 8 numbers -- for example: NCTF00000531.
 - The NCTF number is solely for identification of the transfer facility in North Carolina.
 - The NCTF number is not interchangeable with an EPA Identification (ID) number and must not be used on a hazardous waste manifest.
- The North Carolina transfer facility and/or hazardous waste transporter must maintain a copy of any required transfer facility forms on-site for at least three years (N.C.G.S. 130A-295.05).
- North Carolina transfer facility forms include:
 - North Carolina Hazardous Waste Transfer Facility Registration Form: This form is used to register as a hazardous waste transfer facility operating in North Carolina.
 - "Form TP" or North Carolina Hazardous Waste Transporter Form for Listing Transfer Facilities:
 This form is used to document every hazardous waste transfer facility in North Carolina that the transporter uses.
 - "Form TF" or North Carolina Hazardous Waste Transfer Facility Form for Listing Transporters:
 This form is used to document every hazardous waste transporter that makes use of the transfer facility.

1

Revised: 8/8/2019

Hazardous Waste Transfer Facility Frequent Questions

Question: An existing North Carolina hazardous waste transfer facility (NCTF) moves to a new location in North Carolina. Does the new site need a new NCTF number for the new location? Does the old NCTF number need to be deactivated?

Answer: Yes, the facility will submit a new Transfer Facility Registration form to receive a new NCTF number for the new site. If operations stop at the old site, they will also submit the Transfer Facility Registration form for the old site and indicate "Operation Ceased" for the old site (see below excerpt of the Transfer Facility Registration form)

Please Refer to the instructions for Filing Registration before completing this form. The information requested here is required by Session Law 2007-107 amending Chapter 130A of the General Statutes (House Bill 36). Submit this form to the Hazardous Waste Section. In addition, maintain copies of this form on-site for at least three years.													
Reason for Submittal	□ Initial Registration	 Transfer Facility Registration Number 											
	 □ Subsequent Registration □ Operation Ceased 	N	C	Т	F								
	(Name of company and/or specific site na	ame)											
Transfer Facility Name													
Transfer Facility Name	Transfer Facility Name (Physical Address, NOT P.O. Box or Rou												

Question: Does a North Carolina hazardous waste transfer facility require an EPA Identification (ID) number?

Answer: Maybe. If the site conducts any other hazardous waste activity (e.g., generator or transporter of hazardous waste, used oil transportation, used oil transfer facility, etc.) the site may require an EPA ID number. There are instances (although rare) where the NC hazardous waste transfer facility site may not require an EPA ID number. If the transporter operating the hazardous waste transfer facility already has a valid EPA ID number from NC or any other state, and the NCTF conducts no other hazardous waste activity other than operating as a 10-day transfer facility, then an EPA ID number is not required, but the site must register for a NCTF number.

2