Appendix II

Local Governments and Planning Jurisdictions in the Roanoke River Basin

The Roanoke River basin encompasses all or portions of 15 counties and 42 municipalities. The following Table provides a listing of these local governments, along with the regional planning jurisdiction (Council of Governments). There are 17 municipalities located in more than one major river basin.

County	Region	Municipalities
Bertie	Q	Askewville, Aulander *, Kelford, Lewiston Woodville, Roxobel, Windsor
Caswell	G	Milton, Yanceyville
Forsyth	I	Kernersville * ♦, Rural Hall *, Walkertown *
Granville	K	Stovall
Guilford	G	Kernersville * ♦, Stokesdale *
Halifax	L	Halifax, Hobgood *, Littleton *, Roanoke Rapids, Scotland Neck *, Weldon
Martin	Q	Hamilton, Hassell, Jamesville, Oak City, Williamston
Northampton	L	Garysburg, Gaston *, Jackson *, Rich Square *
Orange	J	None
Person	K	Roxboro *
Rockingham	G	Eden, Madison, Mayodan, Reidsville *, Stoneville, Wentworth
Stokes	I	Danbury, Walnut Cove
Surry	I	None
Vance	K	Henderson *, Middleburg *
Warren	K	Macon *, Norlina *
Washington	R	Plymouth

- G Piedmont Triad COG
- I Northwest Piedmont COG
- J Triangle J COG
- K Kerr-Tar Regional COG
- L Upper Coastal Plain COG
- Q Mid-East Commission
- R Albemarle Commission
- * Located in more than one major river basin.
- ♦ Located in more than one county.

Note: Counties adjacent to and sharing a border with a river basin are not included as part of that basin if only a trace amount of the county (<2 percent) is located in that basin, unless a municipality is located in that county. (Note: Guilford County is only included because of the municipality, Kernersville.)