Appendix II

Local Governments and Planning Jurisdictions in the French Broad River Basin

Local Governments and Planning Jurisdictions in the Basin

The French Broad River basin encompasses all or portions of eight counties and 24 municipalities. The following table provides a listing of these local governments, along with the regional planning jurisdiction (Council of Governments). Only one municipality is located in more than one major river basin.

County	Region	Municipalities
Avery	D	Newland, Sugar Mountain*
Buncombe	В	Asheville, Biltmore Forest, Black Mountain, Montreat, Weaverville, Woodfin
Haywood	Α	Canton, Clyde, Maggie Valley, Waynesville
Henderson	В	Flat Rock, Fletcher, Hendersonville, Laurel Park
Madison	В	Hot Springs, Mars Hill, Marshall
Mitchell	D	Bakersville, Spruce Pine
Transylvania	В	Brevard, Rosman
Yancey	D	Burnsville

* Located in more than one major river basin.

Note: Counties adjacent to and sharing a border with a river basin are not included as part of that basin if only a trace amount of the county (<2 percent) is located in that basin, unless a municipality is located in that county.

Location Bryson City Asheville Boone

Region	Name
Α	Southwestern Commission
В	Land of the Sky Regional Council
D	High Country Council of Governments