Appendix II

Local Governments and Planning Jurisdictions in the Little Tennessee River Basin



Local Governments and Planning Jurisdictions in the Basin

The Little Tennessee River basin encompasses all or portions of six counties and nine municipalities. The following table provides a listing of these local governments, along with the regional planning jurisdiction (Council of Governments). The majority of Cherokee County and Clay County are located in the Hiwassee River Basin. One municipality is located in more than one major river basin.

County	Region	Municipalities
Cherokee	A	None
Clay	A	None
Graham	A	Robbinsville, Santeetlah
Jackson	A	Dillsboro, Forest Hills, Highland , Sylva, Webster
Macon	A	Franklin, Highland*
Swain	A	Bryson

[♦] Located in more than one major river basin.

Note: Counties adjacent to and sharing a border with a river basin are not included as part of that basin if only a trace amount of the county (<2 percent) is located in that basin, unless a municipality is located in that county.

Region	<u>Name</u>	Location
A	Southwestern Commission Council of Government	Bryson City

The Little Tennessee River basin also encompasses the Qualla Boundary, home of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians (EBCI). The EBCI are a self-governing tribe and are treated like a separate state by the United States government. The Cherokee reservation lies at the foot of the Great Smokey Mountains National Park and contains six communities: Big Cove, Birdtown, Painttown, Snowbird, Wolftown and Yellowhill.

