### December 21, 2012

## **MEMORANDUM**

# TO:

Marion Deerhake, Chair Chris Ayers Marvin Cavanaugh Thomas F. Cecich Les Hall Dr. Ernest W. Larkin Jeff Morse Darryl D. Moss Amy Pickle Dr. David B. Peden Stephen Smith

### FROM:

Sheila Holman

### **SUBJECT:**

January 2013 Air Quality Committee Meeting

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 a.m. on January 9, 2013. Please note that the meeting time is

#### 10:00 A.M.\*

\* If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, subsequently scheduled committee meeting *may* be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting has adjourned.

The Air Quality Committee meeting audio and presentations are also broadcast as a webinar for those who cannot attend in person. To join the meeting, go to <a href="https://denr.ncgovconnect.com/emc/">https://denr.ncgovconnect.com/emc/</a> and log in using your North Carolina Identity Management (NCID) and password or if you do not have an NCID, enter as a guest.

Items marked with an asterisk (\*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8430 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know

if you will not be able to attend so that we may be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

# **CALL TO ORDER** (Marion Deerhake)

1. Call to Order and The State Government Ethics Act, N.C.G.S. § 138A-15(e)[PDF]

### **MINUTES** (Marion Deerhake)

2. Review and Approval of November Meeting Minutes [PDF]

# **CONCEPTS**

- 3. Amendments to Air Toxics Rules to Address S.L. 2012-91 (519) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)[PDF] [PDF][PPT]
- 4. Asbestos Acceptable Ambient Level (AAL) Correction (518) (Steve Schliesser, DAQ)[PDF]
- 5. Amend Permitting Rules to Clarify Permitting Requirements for Sources Subject to a MACT or GACT Standard (520) (Patrick Knowlson, DAQ) [PDF]

## **DRAFT RULES**

6. Revision of Arsenic Acceptable Ambient Level (AAL) (514) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)[PDF] Updated

# JANUARY EMC AGENDA ITEMS Updated

A-1. Request that the Environmental Management Commission Delegate Limited Authority to a Special Air Permit Appeals Committee for Final Agency Decision (Action Item-AQC and EMC 13-06)PDF

### **INFORMATION ITEMS**

- 7. < S.L. 2012- 91 Section 4 Air Toxics Report (Mike Abraczinskas, DAQ) [PDF][PPT]
- 8. < Update on PM2.5 National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) (DAQ)[PPT]
- 9. < Director's Remarks (Sheila Holman, DAQ)
  - 1. Update on SO2 Designations
- 10. \* 1995-2013 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar [PDF]

- 11. \* Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development[PDF]
- 12. \*< Next Meeting March 13, 2013, (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Air Quality web site Public Notices. This web site also has many other useful features.

CC:	Other EMC Members Frank Crawley Allen Jernigan Dee Freeman Robin Smith Mary Penny Thompson William Cary Diana Kees Lois Thomas Sheila Holman Tom Mather	Don van der Vaart William Willets John Evans Lee Daniel Lori Cherry Gary Saunders Michael Pjetraj Brian Phillips Donnie Redmond	Mike Abraczinskas Sushma Masemore Joelle Burleson Glenn Sappie Vladimir Zaytsev Patrick Knowlson Robin Barrows Regional DAQ Supervisors Local Programs
-----	---	---	--