January 2015 Air Quality Committee Meeting

December 17, 2014

TO:

Charles Carter, Chair Gerard Carroll Dr. Lawrence Raymond E. O. Ferrell Benne Hutson Julie Wilsey

FROM:

Sheila Holman, Director Division of Air Quality

SUBJECT:

January 2015 Air Quality Committee Meeting The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. on January 7, 2015. Please note that the meeting time is

3:00 P.M.*

* If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, subsequently scheduled committee meeting *may* be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting has adjourned.

Items marked with an asterisk (*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at 919-707-8430 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we may be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

CALL TO ORDER (Charles Carter)

1. Call to Order and *The State Government Ethics Act, N.C.G.S § 138A-15(e)*

MINUTES (Charles Carter)

2. Review and Approval of *November Meeting Summary*

CONCEPTS

None

DRAFT RULES

None

DRAFT REPORT

3. <u>Request for Approval to Proceed to Public Comment on S.L. 2013-413</u> (H74) <u>Periodic Review</u> <u>of Rules Report</u> for <u>15A NCAC 02D</u> and <u>020</u> (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)

JANUARY EMC AGENDA ITEMS

None

INFORMATION ITEMS

- 4. Ozone Standard Update (Donnie Redmond, DAQ)
- 5. Local Air Quality Programs Overview
 - 1. <u>Western North Carolina Regional Air Quality Agency</u> (David Brigman, Director)
 - 2. <u>Mecklenburg County Air Quality</u> (Leslie Rhodes, Director)
 - 3. *Forsyth County Office of Environmental Assistance and Protection* (Minor Barnette, Director)

6. < Director's Remarks (Sheila Holman, DAQ)

- 1. Section 111(d) Proposed Guideline
- 2. Cross State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) Update
- 3. Vehicle Emissions Inspection/Maintenance (I/M) Program Three Year Exemption Update
- 4. Sulfur Dioxide (SO2) Designations Update
- 5. Charlotte Redesignation Request Process
- 6. Update on Air Related Mining and Energy Commission (MEC) Actions
- 7. * <u>1995-2014 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar</u>
- 8. * Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development

13. < Next Meeting March 11, 2015 (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Air Quality web site <u>Public Notices</u>. This web site also has many other useful features.

| CC: | Other EMC Members | William Willets | Vladimir Zaytsev |
|-----|-------------------|-----------------|---------------------------------|
| | Jennie Hauser | Lee Daniel | Patrick Knowlson |
| | Amy Bircher | Michael Pjetraj | Steve Schliesser |
| | John Skvarla | Lori Cherry | Robin Barrows |
| | Mitch Gillespie | Gary Saunders | Candace Prusiewicz |
| | Lacy Presnell | Brian Phillips | Nancy Jones |
| | Lois Thomas | Donnie Redmond | Randy Strait |
| | Sheila Holman | Sushma Masemore | Regional DAQ Supervisors |
| | Tom Mather | Joelle Burleson | Local Programs |
| | Mike Abraczinskas | Glenn Sappie | Mark Cuilla |
| | John Evans | Booker Pullen | |
| | | | |