## December 14, 2016

#### MEMORANDUM

TO: Charles Carter, Chair

Gerard Carroll

Dr. Lawrence Raymond

E. O. Ferrell Steven Rowlan Steve Tedder John D. Solomon Clyde E. Smith, Jr.

FROM: Sheila Holman, Director

Division of Air Quality

SUBJECT: January 2017 Air Quality Committee Meeting

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m. on January 11, 2017. Please note that the meeting time is

## 11:00 A.M.<sup>1</sup>

<sup>1</sup>If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, the subsequently scheduled committee meeting *may* be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting is adjourned.

Meeting audio and presentations will be broadcast via the state web conferencing link posted on the Environmental Management Commission website at <a href="https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-resources-water-resources-commissions/environmental-management-commission">https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-resources-commissions/environmental-management-commission</a>.

Items marked with an asterisk (\*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8430 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we can be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

## CALL TO ORDER (Charles Carter)

1. General Statute § 138A-15 mandates that the Chairman inquire as to whether any member knows of any known conflict of interest or appearance of conflict with respect to matters before the Commission. If any member knows of a conflict of interest or appearance of a conflict, please so state at this time.

# MINUTES (Charles Carter)

2. Review and Approval of September Meeting Minutes

#### **CONCEPTS**

- 3. <u>Session Law 2013-413 (H74) Readoption of Air Quality Rules 15A NCAC 02D Sections</u> .0100, .0200, .0300, .0400, .1300, .2000, .2200, and .2300 (537) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)
- 4. Concept on E-noticing for permits (538) (Mark Cuilla, DAQ)
- 5. <u>Concept on modification of current Commercial Industrial Solid Waste Incinerator Rule</u> to incorporate emission guidelines (539) (Mark Cuilla, DAQ)
- 6. <u>Concept on Landfill Rule modification to incorporate emission guidelines</u> (540) (Mark Cuilla, DAQ)
- 7. <u>Concept on PM2.5 partial disapproval modifications to major stationary NSR/PSD rules (541) (Mark Cuilla, DAQ)</u>

#### DRAFT RULES

None

## JANUARY EMC AGENDA ITEMS

8. <u>Hearing Officer's Report on Odor Control of Feed Ingredient Manufacturing Plants Rule per S.L. 2015-263 (536)</u> (Brian Phillips, DAQ)

## INFORMATION ITEMS

- 9. Status of Request for Delegation of Federal Plan 40 CFR 62 Subpart LLL Federal Plan Requirements for Sewage Sludge Incineration Units Constructed on or Before October 14, 2010
- 10.< Director's Remarks (Sheila Holman, DAQ)
- 11.\* 1995-2017 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar
- 12.\* Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development
- 10.< Next Regular Meeting March 8, 2017 (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Environmental Quality web site at <a href="http://deq.nc.gov/news/events">http://deq.nc.gov/news/events</a>. The web site also has many other useful features.

# SCH/jb

## Attachments

cc:

Other EMC Members

Jennie Hauser

Amy Bircher

Don van der Vaart

Tom Reeder

Sam M. Hayes

Lois Thomas

Sheila Holman

Tom Mather

Mike Abraczinskas

John Evans

William Willets

Michael Pjetraj

Lori Cherry

Gary Saunders

Brian Phillips

Sushma Masemore

Joelle Burleson

Glenn Sappie

Booker Pullen

Vladimir Zaytsev

Patrick Knowlson

Robin Barrows Randy Strait Regional DAQ Supervisors Local Programs Mark Cuilla