February 7, 2018

MEMORANDUM

TO: Dr. Stan Meiburg, Chair Charles Carter, Vice-Chair Gerard Carroll Marion Deerhake Dr. Suzanne Lazorick Clyde E. Smith, Jr. Julie Wilsey John D. Solomon

FROM: Mike Abraczinskas, Director Division of Air Quality

SUBJECT: February 2018 Special Called Meeting of the Air Quality Committee

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room on February 7, 2018. Please note that the meeting time is:

12:30 PM - 2:30 PM

Meeting audio and presentations will be broadcast via the state web conferencing link posted on the Environmental Management Commission website at https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources-water-reso

Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we can be assured of a quorum. The agenda will include:

CALL TO ORDER (Stan Meiburg)

1. General Statute § 138A-15 mandates that the Chairman inquire as to whether any member knows of any known conflict of interest or appearance of conflict with respect to matters before the Commission. If any member knows of a conflict of interest or appearance of a conflict, please so state at this time.

POWERPOINT PRESENTATION

(Counsel Phillip Reynolds)

ACTION ITEM

2. <u>Petition for Rulemaking to Limit North Carolina's Carbon Dioxide Emissions to Protect a</u> Stable Climate System and Preserve the Natural Resources of North Carolina

<u>Attachment A</u> - Petition for Rulemaking

Attachment B - De Luca Comment Letter

Attachment C - De Luca Comment Letter Attachment

3.< Next Regular Meeting March 7 (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this agenda and some attachments appear on the Department of Environmental Quality web site at http://deq.nc.gov/news/events. The website also has many other useful features.

Attachments

cc:

Other EMC Members

Michael Regan

John A. Nicholson

Sheila Holman

William Lane

Amy Bircher

Asher Spiller

Mike Abraczinskas

Michael Pjetraj

Sushma Masemore

William Willets

Randy Strait

Joelle Burleson

Mark Cuilla

Robin Barrows

Booker Pullen

Brian Phillips

Patrick Knowlson

Vladimir Zaytsev

Rahul Thaker

Brad Nelson

Gary Saunders

Lois Thomas

Phillip Reynolds

Local Programs

Regional DAQ Supervisors