December 21, 2018

MEMORANDUM

TO: Dr. Stan Meiburg, Chair Charles Carter, Vice-Chair Gerard P. Carroll Marion Deerhake Dr. Suzanne Lazorick George H. Pettus Julie Wilsey John D. Solomon, EMC Chair

FROM: Mike Abraczinskas, Director Division of Air Quality

SUBJECT: January 2019 Air Quality Committee Meeting

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room on January 9, 2019. Please note that the meeting time is:

10:00 A.M. to 12:00 P.M.¹

¹If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, the subsequently scheduled committee meeting may be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting is adjourned.

Meeting audio and presentations will be broadcast via the state web conferencing link posted on the Environmental Management Commission website at <u>https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-resources-</u> commissions/environmental-management-commission.

Items marked with an asterisk (*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8447 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we can be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

CALL TO ORDER (Chairman Meiburg)

1. General Statute § 138A-15 mandates that the Chairman inquire as to whether any member knows of any known conflict of interest or appearance of conflict with respect to matters before the Commission. If any member knows of a conflict of interest or appearance of a conflict, please so state at this time.

MINUTES (Chairman Meiburg)

2. <u>Review and Approval of November 2018 Meeting Minutes</u>

CONCEPTS

3. None

DRAFT RULES

4. <u>Request for Approval of Proposed Rule Revisions and to Proceed to EMC for Approval to Proceed to Public Hearing on Readoption of Group 5 Rules - 15A NCAC 02D .0600-.0615, .2100-.2104, .2300-.2311, .2600-.2621 (547) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)</u>

- Group 5 Rules
- Fiscal Note
- **Presentation**

JANUARY EMC AGENDA ITEMS

5.* Overview of Governor Cooper's Executive Order No. 80: North Carolina's Commitment to Address Climate Change and Transition to a Clean Energy Economy (Sushma Masemore, DEQ)

6* Update on Methyl Bromide Log Fumigation Rulemaking (Patrick Knowlson, DAQ)

INFORMATION ITEMS

7. Continued Discussion of Acceptable Ambient Level for Methyl Bromide Emissions from Log Fumigation

- <u>Acceptable Ambient Level (AAL) Recommendation for Methyl Bromide</u> (October 22, 2018)
- <u>Addendum to the AAL Recommendation for Methyl Bromide</u> (Revised December 5, 2018)
- <u>Discussion of Methyl Bromide AEGL Acute Inhalation Levels</u>

8.< Director's Remarks (Mike Abraczinskas, DAQ)

9.* <u>1995-2019 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission</u> <u>Calendar</u>

10.* <u>Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development</u>

11.< Next Regular Meeting March 13, 2019 (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Department of Environmental Quality web site at <u>http://deq.nc.gov/news/events</u>. The website also has many other useful features.

Attachments

cc:

Other EMC Members Michael Regan Randy Strait John A. Nicholson Sheila Holman William Lane Brenda Menard Asher Spiller Mike Abraczinskas Michael Pjetraj Sushma Masemore

William Willets Steve Hall Patrick Butler Joelle Burleson Mark Cuilla Booker Pullen Rahul Thaker Brian Phillips Patrick Knowlson Vladimir Zaytsev

Gary Saunders Brad Nelson Rahat Ashique Lois Thomas Phillip Reynolds Sandy Mort Robin Barrows Local Programs Regional DAQ Supervisors