MEMORANDUM

TO: Charles Carter, Chair Gerard Carroll E. O. Ferrell Dr. Suzanne Lazorick Steve Tedder John D. Solomon Clyde E. Smith, Jr.

FROM: Mike Abraczinskas, Director

Division of Air Quality

SUBJECT: July 2017 Air Quality Committee Meeting

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room on July 12, 2017. Please note that the meeting time is

2:00 P.M. - 3:00 P.M.¹

¹If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, the subsequently scheduled committee meeting may be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting is adjourned.

Meeting audio and presentations will be broadcast via the state web conferencing link posted on the Environmental Management Commission website at https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-resources-commissions/environmental-management-commission.

Items marked with an asterisk (*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8447 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we can be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

CALL TO ORDER (Charles Carter)

1. General Statute § 138A-15 mandates that the Chairman inquire as to whether any member knows of any known conflict of interest or appearance of conflict with respect to matters before the Commission. If any member knows of a conflict of interest or appearance of a conflict, please so state at this time.

MINUTES (Charles Carter)

2. Review and Approval of May 2017 Meeting Minutes

CONCEPTS

- 3. Proposed Rule Revisions on Session Law 2013-413 (H74) Readoption of Air Quality Rules 15A NCAC 02D .1100, .1201-.1203, .1205-.1208, and .1211-.1212 and 02Q Section .0700 (543) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)
- 4. Proposed Rule Revisions to Inspection/Maintenance (I/M) Rules to Incorporate Session
 Law 2017-10 Section 3.5 Applicability to Vehicles with Model Year within 20 Years of Current
 Year and for Readoption of 15A NCAC 02D Section .1000 (544) (Mark Cuilla, DAQ)

DRAFT RULES

5. Request for Approval of Proposed Rule Revisions and to Proceed to EMC to Request to Proceed to Public Hearing on Adoption of Final Emission Guidelines for Existing Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste Incinerators (539) (Paula Hemmer, DAQ)

JULY EMC AGENDA ITEMS

- 6.* Request for Approval of Hearing Officer's Report on Rule Revisions and Regulatory
 Impact Analysis to the PM2.5 Increment Baseline for the Prevention of Significant Deterioration
 Rule (541) (Patrick Knowlson, DAQ)
- 7.* Request for Approval of Proposed Rule Revisions, Regulatory Impact Analysis, and to Proceed to Public Hearing on Adoption of Final Emission Guidelines for Sewage Sludge Incinerators (497a) (Mark Cuilla, DAQ)
- 8.* Request for Approval of Proposed Rule Revisions, Regulatory Impact Analysis, and to Proceed to Public Hearing on Session Law 2013-413 (H74) Readoption of Air Quality Rules 15A NCAC 02Q Sections .0100 through .0500, .0800, and .0900 (542) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)

INFORMATION ITEMS

- 9.< Director's Remarks (Mike Abraczinskas, DAQ)
- 10.* 1995-2017 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar
- 11.* Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development

12.< Next Regular Meeting September 13, 2017 (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Department of Environmental Quality web site at http://deq.nc.gov/news/events. The web site also has many other useful features.

Attachments

cc:

Other EMC Members

Michael Regan

John A. Nicholson

Sheila Holman

William Lane

Amy Bircher

Asher Spiller

Mike Abraczinskas

Michael Pjetraj

Sushma Masemore

John Evans

William Willets

Don van der Vaart

Lori Cherry

Randy Strait

Joelle Burleson

Sushma Masemore

Joelle Burleson

Mark Cuilla

Robin Barrows

Booker Pullen

Brian Phillips

Patrick Knowlson

Vladimir Zaytsev

Gary Saunders

Rahul Thaker

Lois Thomas

Jennie Hauser

Local Programs

Regional DAQ Supervisors