#### MEMORANDUM

TO: Dr. Stan Meiburg, Chair Charles Carter, Vice-Chair Gerard P. Carroll Marion Deerhake Dr. Suzanne Lazorick Julie Wilsey John D. Solomon, EMC Chair

FROM: Mike Abraczinskas, Director Division of Air Quality

SUBJECT: October 2018 Air Quality Committee Meeting

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room on October 9, 2018. Please note that the meeting time is:

10:00 A.M. - 11:30 A.M.<sup>1</sup>

<sup>1</sup>If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, the subsequently scheduled committee meeting may be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting is adjourned.

Meeting audio and presentations will be broadcast via the state web conferencing link posted on the Environmental Management Commission website at <a href="https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-resources-commissions/environmental-management-commission">https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-resources-commissions/environmental-management-commission</a>.

Items marked with an asterisk (\*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8447 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we can be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

## CALL TO ORDER (Chairman Meiburg)

1. General Statute § 138A-15 mandates that the Chairman inquire as to whether any member knows of any known conflict of interest or appearance of conflict with respect to matters before the Commission. If any member knows of a conflict of interest or appearance of a conflict, please so state at this time.

# MINUTES (Chairman Meiburg)

2. Review and Approval of July 2018 Meeting Minutes

## **CONCEPTS**

3. None

#### DRAFT RULES

- 4. Request Approval to Proceed to EMC for Public Comment and Hearing on Readoption of Group 4 Rules 15A NCAC 02D .0540, .1800-.1808, .1900-.1907 / Presentation (546) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)
  - Group 4 Rules
  - Fiscal Note
  - Relevant Session Laws
- 5. Request Approval to Proceed to EMC for Public Comment and Hearing on Proposed Temporary Rule Adoption on Control of Emissions from Log Fumigation, 15A NCAC 02D 0546 (548) (Michael Abraczinskas, DAQ) [Moved to the November 2018 AQC Agenda]
  - 15A NCAC 02D .0546 and .1104
  - "Acceptable Ambient Level (AAL) Recommendation for Methyl Bromide"
  - "Questions and Answers on Log Fumigation and Methyl Bromide"
- 6. Request Approval to Proceed to EMC for Public Comment and Hearing on Proposed Permanent Rule Adoption on Control of Emissions from Log Fumigation, 15A NCAC 02D .0546 (549) (Patrick Knowlson, DAQ) {Removed from the AQC Agenda}

## OCTOBER EMC AGENDA ITEMS

7. None

#### INFORMATION ITEMS

- 8< Update on Proposed "Safer Affordable Fuel-Efficient (SAFE) Vehicles Rule"
- 9.< Director's Remarks (Mike Abraczinskas, DAQ)
- 10.\* 1995-2018 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar
- 11.\* Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development
- 12.< Next Regular Meeting November 7, 2018 (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Department of Environmental Quality web site at <a href="http://deq.nc.gov/news/events">http://deq.nc.gov/news/events</a>. The web site also has many other useful features.

#### Attachments

cc:

Other EMC Members
Michael Regan
Randy Strait
John A. Nicholson
Sheila Holman
William Lane
Brenda Menard
Asher Spiller
Mike Abraczinskas
Michael Pjetraj
Sushma Masemore

William Willets Steve Hall Patrick Butler Joelle Burleson Mark Cuilla Booker Pullen Rahul Thaker Brian Phillips Patrick Knowlson Vladimir Zaytsev Gary Saunders
Brad Nelson
Rahul Thaker
Lois Thomas
Phillip Reynolds
Local Programs
Regional DAQ Supervisors