### **MEMORANDUM**

#### TO:

Marion Deerhake, Chair Chris Ayers Marvin Cavanaugh Thomas F. Cecich Les Hall Dr. Ernest W. Larkin Jeff Morse Darryl D. Moss Amy Pickle Dr. David B. Peden Stephen Smith

## FROM:

Sheila Holman

## **SUBJECT:**

September 2012 Air Quality Committee Meeting

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. on September 12, 2012. Please note that the meeting time is

# 10:00 A.M.\*

The Air Quality Committee meeting audio and presentations are also broadcast as a webinar for those who cannot attend in person. To join the meeting, go to <a href="https://denr.ncgovconnect.com/emc/">https://denr.ncgovconnect.com/emc/</a> and log in using your North Carolina Identity Management (NCID) and password or if you do not have an NCID, enter as a guest.

Items marked with an asterisk (\*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 707-8430 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we may be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

<sup>\*</sup> If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, subsequently scheduled committee meeting *may* be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting has adjourned.

## **CALL TO ORDER** (Marion Deerhake)

1. Call to Order and The State Government Ethics Act, N.C.G.S. § 138A-15(e)[PDF]

# **MINUTES** (Marion Deerhake)

2. Review and Approval of July Meeting Minutes [PDF]

### **CONCEPTS**

3. Inspection/Maintenance (I/M) Rules Revision (517)[PDF]

## **DRAFT RULES**

- 4. Revisions to New Source Review and Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD)
  Nitrogen Oxides (NOx) Significance Level for PM2.5 (512) and PM2.5 Increment (516)
  (Joelle Burleson, DAQ)[PDF] [PDF]
- 5. Revision of Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) Reasonably Available Control Technology (RACT) Rules Applicability (513) (Joelle Burleson, DAQ) [PDF] [PDF]

# SEPTEMBER EMC AGENDA ITEMS

None

## **INFORMATION ITEMS**

- 6. < Director's Remarks (Sheila Holman, DAQ)
  - Cross State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) Vacatur
  - Air Toxics Legislation Stakeholder Process
  - Sulfur Dioxide (SO2) Designations Update
  - DAQ Budget Update
- 7. \* 1995-2013 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar [PDF]
- 8. \* Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development[PDF]
- 9. \*< Next Meeting November 7, 2012, (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Air Quality web site <u>Public Notices</u>. This web site also has many other useful features.

CC:	Other EMC Members Frank Crawley	Don van der Vaart William Willets	Mike Abraczinskas Laura Boothe
	Allen Jernigan Dee Freeman Robin Smith	John Evans Lee Daniel Lori Cherry	Sushma Masemore Joelle Burleson Glenn Sappie
	Koom Simui	Lon Cherry	Gleini Sappie

Mary Penny Thompson William Cary Diana Kees Lois Thomas Sheila Holman Tom Mather	Gary Saunders Michael Pjetraj Brian Phillips Donnie Redmond	Vladimir Zaytsev Patrick Knowlson Robin Barrows Regional DAQ Supervisors Local Programs	
--	--	---	--