

LOCAL GOVERNMENT COMMISSION STATE AND LOCAL GOVERMENT FINANCE DIVISION GREGORY C. GASKINS, DEPUTY TREASURER SHARON EDMUNDSON, DEPUTY TREASURER

North Carolina General Statute § 159-3 establishes the Local Government Commission and defines the composition of the Commission as nine members, those being the State Treasurer, State Auditor, Secretary of State, Secretary of Revenue, and five members appointed for four-year terms. The current members of the Local Government Commission are as follows:

Name	Office/Occupation	Appointed By	Expiration of Term	
Dale Folwell Chairman	State Treasurer	Ex Officio	N/A	
Beth Wood	State Auditor	Ex Officio	N/A	
Elaine Marshall	Secretary of State	Ex Officio	N/A	
Ronald Penny	Secretary of Revenue	Ex Officio	N/A	
Joshua Bass	President, Currituck Chamber of Commerce	Governor	6/30/2021	
Viola Harris	Edgecombe County Commissioner	Governor	6/30/2021	
Scott Padgett	Former Mayor of Concord	Governor	6/30/2021	
Edward Munn	Retired Gastonia City Manager	President Pro- Tempore	6/30/2021	
Mike Philbeck	Real estate broker, former Mayor of Shelby	Speaker of the House	6/30/2021	



ROY COOPER Governor MICHAEL S. REGAN Secretary Kim H. Colson Director

State Water Infrastructure Authority Members

Per NCGA 159G-				Appointing	Expiration
70.(b)	Position Requirements	Name	Title	Authority	of Term
(1)	Director of Division of Water Infrastructure* / Serves as Authority Chair	Kim Colson – Chair	Director, Division of Water Infrastructure	Ex-Officio	Indefinite
(2)	Secretary of Commerce* / Familiar with Water or other Infrastructure Improvements for the Purpose of Promoting Economic Development	Melody Adams	Director, Rural Grants/ Programs; Rural Development Division; Dept. of Commerce	Ex-Officio	Indefinite
(3)	Director of Local Government Commission* (Dept. of State Treasurer)	Greg Gaskins	Deputy Treasurer, State and Local Finance Division; Secretary of the Local Government Commission	Ex-Officio	Indefinite
(4)	Professional Engineer in Private Sector Familiar with Wastewater Systems	Juhann Waller, PE	President, JC Waller & Associates	Governor	June 2022
(5)	Knowledgeable about Federal Funding for Wastewater and Water Systems	Dr. Bernadette Pelissier		Governor	June 2021
(6)	Knowledgeable about Urban Wastewater or Water Systems	Leila Goodwin	Water Resources Engineer	Senate Pro Tempore	June 2022
(7)	Knowledgeable about Rural Wastewater or Water Systems	Edward Goscicki		Senate Pro Tempore	June 2022
(8)	County Commissioner or Resident of a Rural County Knowledgeable about Public Health Services	Cal Stiles	Cherokee County Commissioner	Speaker of the House	June 2022
(9)	Familiar with Wastewater, Drinking Water and Stormwater Issues and State Funding Sources	Maria Hunnicutt – Vice Chair	Manager, Broad River Water Authority	Speaker of the House	June 2021

^{*} Or designee

