Secretaries' Science Advisory Board Members

Members as of Jan. 2, 2020

Member Title Background, expertise, affliation

Tom Augspurger, Ph.D.

Supervisory Fish and Wildlife Biologist / Environmental Contaminants Specialist

Dr. Augspurger is an adjunct associate professor in the Toxicology Program at N.C. State University. He has expertise in ecology and environmental contaminants and a certificate in toxicology. Dr. Augspurger serves on the board in his private capacity and works for the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Richard T. Di Giulio, Ph.D.


Sally Kleberg Professor of Environmental Toxicology at Duke University's Nicholas School of the Environment


Dr. Di Giulio is a professor of environmental toxicology at Duke University's Nicholas School of the Environment. He is also the director of the Duke University Superfund Research Center and the integrated toxicology and environmental health program. 
David Dorman, DVM, Ph.D., DABVT, DABT


Associate Dean, N.C. State University, College of Veterinary Medicine

Dr. Dorman is an associate dean for research and graduate studies at the N.C. State College of Veterinary Medicine and a professor of toxicology at N.C. State University. He is the chairman of the national research council subcommittee on emerging and continuous exposure guidance levels for selected submarine contaminants. He has been a member of the Science Advisory Board since 2011. 

Elaina Kenyon, Ph.D., DABT


Research Toxicologist at the Environmental Protection Agency in Research Triangle Park  Dr. Kenyon is a toxicologist at the U.S. EPA and has experience in modeling, experimental design, metabolism studies and mechanistic toxicology. She has published research on air toxics, risk assessment and toxicological modeling. She has been member of the Science Advisory Board since 1996.  

Thomas Starr, Ph.D.

Principal, TBS Associates

Dr. Starr has 30 years of professional experience in quantitative assessment of health and environmental risks from exposure to toxic substances and is well published in exposure assessment. He was a past member of the U.S. EPA's Science Advisory Board on halogenated organics. 

Woodhall Stopford, MD, MSPH

Physician at the Duke University Medical Center, Dept. of Community and Family Medicine

Dr. Stopford has written more than 80 publications focusing on occupational toxicology and risk assessment of metals, volatile organic chemicals, pesticides, respirable quarts and contaminants in consumer products. He served on an EPA panel assessing the risks of dioxins in ceramics. he has been a member of the Science Advisory Board since 1990.


Michael Stoskopf, DVM, Ph.D., D.ACZM

Professor, Aquatics, Wildlife, and Zoological Medicine

Dr. Stoskopf is a professor of aquatics, wildlife and zoological medicine at N.C. State University. His research has included population, ecosystem and landscape approaches to health management of wildlife species. 

John Vandenberg, Ph.D.


National Program Director, Human Health Risk Assessment Program for the U.S. EPA Dr. Vandenberg has led EPA's integrated science assessments for the criteria air pollutants and the integrated risk information system for high priority hazardous air pollutants. He has developed risk assessment guidelines in conjunction with California.

Betsey Tilson, M.D., MPH


State Health Director and Chief Medical Officer for the N.C. Department of Health and Human Services

Dr. Tilson is a pediatrician and preventive medicine physician. She currently serves as the state's health director and chief medical officer with the N.C. Department of Health and Human Services. Her focuses have included public health and prevention, as well as clinical quality standards.

Phillip Tarte, MPH


New Hanover County Public Health Director

Dr. Tarte is the New Hanover County Health Director with more than 21 years of experience in the public health arena. He previously served as the Union County Public Health Director. 

Viney Aneja, Ph.D.

Co-Director Graduate Programs, and Professor at N.C. State University 

Dr. Aneja is a professor in the Department of Marine, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences at N.C. State University. He was recently appointed to the U.S. EPA's Board of Scientific Counselors Executive Committee and serves as the chair of the subcommittee for the Air, Climate and Energy research program. 

Detlef Knappe, Ph.D. Professor at N.C. State University, Dept. of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering

Dr. Knappe is a member of the Drinking Water Committee of the U.S. EPA’s Science Advisory Board, a trustee of the American Water Works Association’s (AWWA’s) Water Science and Research Division, a Topical Editor for the Open Access Journal Drinking Water Engineering and Science, and a member of the AWWA’s Organic Contaminants Research Committee and the Standards Committee for Activated Carbon. In November 2016, Dr. Knappe and co-authors at the EPA and UNC-Charlotte published research showing elevated levels of GenX in drinking water at a plant near Wilmington. 

Gina Kimble, Ph. D. Laboratory supervisor for the city of Charlotte  Dr. Kimble works at Charlotte Water as a laboratory supervisor. She has participated in Water Research Foundation projects related to water quality and analytical method development. She serves as the Charlotte Water representative for the N.C. Urban Water Consortium and an advisory committee member for the N.C. Water Resources Research Institute.
Jamie DeWitt, Ph.D. Associate professor at East Carolina University, Dept. of Pharmacology and Toxicology, and adjunct professor for N.C. State University's Biological Sciences

Dr. DeWitt is an environmental toxicologist and Associate Professor of pharmacology and toxicology for the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology of the Brody School of Medicine, East Carolina University.  She is also an adjunct Associate Professor for the toxicology program of Biological Sciences for North Carolina State University.  She holds a BS in Environmental Science and Biology from Lyman Briggs College of Michigan State University, and Ph.D. in Environmental Science and Neural Science from the School of Public and Environmental Affairs and Program in Neural Science, Indiana University.