Area Sources

Area sources are defined by EPA as sources that emit less than 10 tons of a single hazardous air pollutant (HAP) or less than 25 tons of a combination of HAPs annually. National emission standards for these sources are being developed under EPA's Urban Air Toxics Strategy. Under the strategy, EPA has identified more than 30 toxic air pollutants. These pollutants were identified because Section 112(k)(3)(B) of the 1990 Clean Air Act (CAA) required EPA to identify at least 30 air toxics that pose the greatest potential public health threat in urban areas.

For more information on EPA's development of area source standards, please click here.

Detailed Information
Area Sources NESHAPs Table
Boiler GACT Rule (6J)
Paint & Autobody Rule (6H)
RICE Rule (4Z)
Links to NC Air Toxics Rules
Control of Toxic Air Pollutants
Toxic Air Pollutant Procedures
Area Source Contacts