Donate to Hurricane Recovery

Local Permit Officers

NORTHEASTERN DISTRICT

Elizabeth City DCM District Office

401 S. Griffin St., Ste 300, Elizabeth City, NC 27909

TELEPHONE: (252) 264-3901; FAX: (252) 331-2951

DISTRICT MANAGER: Frank Jennings - Ext. 235; E-mail  frank.jennings@ncdenr.gov

FIELD SPECIALIST: Lynn Mathis - Ext. 234 E-Mail lynn.mathis@ncdenr.gov

FIELD REPRESENTATIVES: Cynthia Rountree - Ext. 233; E-Mail cynthia.rountree@ncdenr.gov; Yvonne Carver - Ext. 232 E-Mail yvonne.carver@ncdenr.gov; District LPO Coordinator; Ron Renaldi - Ext. 237; E-Mail ronald.renaldi@ncdenr.gov 

DISTRICT PLANNER: Charlan Owens - Ext. 236; E-Mail charlan.owens@ncdenr.gov        

ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT:  Ella Godfrey; E-Mail ella.godfrey@ncdenr.gov - Ext. 231

JURISDICTION: [by County, including all Towns within these Counties: Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Pasquotank, Perquimans]

Permits written by Elizabeth City Field Office for Counties: Camden, Gates, Pasquotank, and Perquimans

CHOWAN COUNTY

P. O. Box 1030

Edenton, NC  27932

LPO:  Mr. Holly Colombo

TELEPHONE: (252) 482-5618; FAX: (252) 482-5697

E-mail: holly.colombo@chowan.nc.gov   

CURRITUCK COUNTY

153 Courthouse Road, Suite 110

Currituck, NC  27929

LPOs: Stacey Smith; Debbie Lashomb; Bill Newns; Ron Schaecher; Richard Godsey

TELEPHONE:  Stacey: (252) 232-6027; Debbie: (252) 232-6026; Bill: (252) 232-6023; Ron: (252) 232-6024; Richard: (252) 232-6020

FAX: (252) 232-3026; Debbie: (252) 232-3470

Email:  stacey.smith@currituckcountync.gov; Debbie.Lashomb@CurrituckCountyNC.gov;

bill.newns@currituckcountync.gov;            ronald.schaecher@currituckcountync.gov; richard.godsey@currituckcountync.gov                          

CURRITUCK COUNTY INSPECTIONS OFFICE (Satellite Office)

P. O. Box 73

Corolla, NC  27927

LPO: Jennie Newbern Turner; Tod Burns; Nick Aisthorpe

TELEPHONE:  Jennie: (252) 232-6031; Tod: (252) 232-6053; Nick: (252) 232-6033

FAX: (252) 453-8300

E-mail: jennie.turner@currituckcountync.gov; tod.burns@currituckcountync.gov; nick.aisthorpe@currituckcountync.gov

DARE COUNTY

P. O. Box 1000

Manteo, NC  27954

LPO:  Donna Creef; KD Jackson; Noah Gillam

TELEPHONE: (252) 475-5873; (252) 475-5879; 252-475-5876; 252-475-5873

E-mail: donnac@darenc.com; kd.jackson@darenc.com; noah.gillam@darenc.com

Contact info for KDH Satellite Office:  Andrian “Sweet Pea” Tillett-Hauck, 252-475-5871, 2601 N. Croatan Hwy, KDH

Northeastern District LPO’s continued

TOWN OF DUCK 

P. O. Box 8369, Duck, NC  27949

LPOs: Joe Heard; Sandy Cross (Ext. 226)

TELEPHONE: (252) 255-1234; FAX: (252) 255-1236

Email: jheard@townofduck.com; scross@townofduck.com

TOWN OF KILL DEVIL HILLS

P. O. Box 1719, Kill Devil Hills, NC  27948

LPO:  Donna Elliott, Meredith Guns, Bryan Brightbill; Cameron Ray

TELEPHONE: Donna:  (252) 449-5310; Cameron: (252) 449-5318  FAX: (252) 441-4102

Email: meredith@kdhnc.com; donna@kdhnc.com; bryan@kdhnc.com; cameron@kdhnc.com                

TOWN OF KITTY HAWK

P. O. Box 549

Kitty Hawk, NC  27949

LPO: Ben Alexander

TELEPHONE: (252) 261-3552; FAX: (252) 261-7900

Email: balexander@kittyhawktown.net

TOWN OF NAGS HEAD

P. O. Box 99

Nags Head, NC  27959

LPO: Margaux Kerr (252-449-6045), Todd Krafft (252-449-6047), David Morton (252-449-6043),

Kelly Wyatt (252-449-6042), Lily Nieberding (252-449-6048)

TELEPHONE: (252) 441-5508 (or) 441-7016

FAX: (252) 441-7290

Email:  Margaux.kerr@nagsheadnc.gov; todd.krafft@nagsheadnc.gov; david.morton@nagsheadnc.gov; kelly.wyatt@nagsheadnc.gov; lily.nieberding@nagsheadnc.gov;

TOWN OF SOUTHERN SHORES

5375 N. Virginia Dare Trail

Southern Shores, NC  27949

LPOs:  Dabni Shelton & Wes Haskett

TELEPHONE: (252) 261-2394; (252) 261-4850; FAX: (252) 255-0876

Email: dshelton@southernshores-nc.gov, whaskett@southernshores-nc.gov

CITY OF ELIZABETH CITY

P. O. Box 347, Elizabeth City, NC  27909

LPO: Brent Thornton, Stanley Ward

TELEPHONE: (252) 337-6868; FAX: (252) 338-1857

E-mail: bthornton@cityofec.com, sward@cityofec.com

NORTHERN DISTRICT

DEQ Washington Regional Office

943 Washington Square Mall, Washington, NC 27889

COURIER:  16-04-01; TELEPHONE: (252) 946-6481; FAX: (252) 948-0478

DISTRICT MANAGER: Jonathan Howell - Telephone (252) 948-3851; E-mail:  jonathan.howell@ncdenr.gov  

FIELD REPRESENTATIVES:

            Kelly Spivey (District LPO Coordinator) - Telephone (252) 948-3853; E-mail  kelly.spivey@ ncdenr.gov

           Steve Trowell - Telephone (252) 948-3854; E-mail steve.trowell@ncdenr.gov

FIELD SPECIALIST:

            Kevin Hart - Telephone (252) 948-3936; E-mail  kevin.hart@ncdenr.gov            

EXPRESS PERMIT COORDINATOR:

           Jonathan Howell - Telephone - (252) 948-3851; E-mail: jonathan.howell@ncdenr.gov   

ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT:

Keri Starks - Telephone (252) 948-3820; E-mail  keri.starks@ncdenr.gov        

JURISDICTION: [by County, including all Towns within these Counties: Beaufort, Bertie,

                             Hertford, Hyde, Tyrrell, Washington]

Permits written by Washington DCM Field Office for Counties: Beaufort, Hyde, Tyrrell, Washington

COUNTY OF BEAUFORT

Permits written by Washington DCM Field Office

COUNTY OF BERTIE

P. O. Box 530

Windsor, NC  27983

TELEPHONE: (252) 794-5303; FAX: (252) 794-5361

LPO: Traci White, Sandy Bryant, Christopher Surgeon

E-mail: traci.white@bertie.nc.gov, sandy.h.bryant@bertie.nc.gov; christopher.s.surgeon@bertie.nc.gov  

COUNTY OF HERTFORD

Building Inspector's Office

P. O. Box 424

Winton, NC  27986

TELEPHONE: (252) 358-7814; FAX: (252) 358-7806

LPO: Robert Mizelle, E-mail: robert.mizelle@hertfordcountync.gov       

COUNTY OF HYDE

Permits written by Washington DCM Field Office

CITY OF WASHINGTON

P. O. Box 1988

Washington, NC  27889-1988

TELEPHONE: (252) 975-9334; FAX:  (252) 946-1965

LPO:  Allen Pittman    

E-mail: apittman@washingtonnc.gov

CENTRAL DISTRICT

*N.C. Division of Coastal Management Headquarters Office*

Morehead City DCM District Office

400 Commerce Ave., Morehead City, NC 28557

COURIER: 11-12-09; TELEPHONE: (252) 808-2808; FAX: (252) 247-3330

DIRECTOR:  Braxton C. Davis, E-mail: braxton.davis@ncdenr.gov                                

DISTRICT MANAGER / DCM COMPLIANCE COORDINATOR 

Roy Brownlow, Telephone Ext. 217; E-mail:  roy.brownlow@ncdenr.gov

FIELD REPRESENTATIVES:

Brad Connell - Telephone Ext. 214; E-mail brad.connell@ncdenr.gov

Heather Styron - Telephone Ext. 216; E-mail heather.m.styron@ncdenr.gov                

FIELD SPECIALIST:

          Ryan Davenport - Telephone Ext. 210; E-mail ryan.davenport@ncdenr.gov

NCDOT PROJECT COORDINATOR:

          Stephen Lane - Telephone Ext. 208; E-mail stephen.lane@ncdenr.gov 

DISTRICT PLANNER:

Rachel Love-Adrick- Telephone Ext. 205; E-mail rachel.love-adrick@ncdenr.gov      

OFFICE MANAGER:

           Susan Day - Telephone Ext. 206; E-mail susan.day@ncdenr.gov

ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT:

       Amanda Cannon – Telephone Ext. 200; E-mail: amanda.cannon@ncdenr.gov

JURISDICTION: [by County, including all Towns within these Counties: Carteret, Craven,

                             Onslow (above New River Inlet), Pamlico]

TOWN OF ATLANTIC BEACH

P. O. Box 10

Atlantic Beach, NC  28512

LPO: Michelle Shreve

Town Manager: David Walker

TELEPHONE: (252) 726-4456; FAX: (252) 727-7043

Email: planner2@atlanticbeach-nc.com; inspector@atlanticbeach-nc.com    

 COUNTY OF CARTERET

Planning & Development

402 Broad Street

Beaufort, NC  28516

LPO: J. D. O’Neal, Kathy Richardson, Sheila Slater; Gene Foxworth; Gregg Hartman; Chris Jones; Sammy Graham

Town Manager: Tommy Burns

(Building Code Administrator) Work Cell: (252)241-3032        

TELEPHONE: (252) 728-8545; FAX: (252) 728-6643

E-mail:   jdoneal@carteretcountync.govkathyr@carteretcountync.gov ; sheila.slater@carteretcountync.gov;           eugene.foxworth@carteretcountync.gov; gregg.hartman@carteretcountync.gov; gerald.jones@carteretcountync.gov; sammyg@carteretcountync.gov

(Western Office) PT Admin Support: Terri Fesmire (252)222-5833

LPO: Tracy Barnes, Dean Lombreglia, Jeff Cannon

TELEPHONE: (252) 222-5833/Fax (252) 393-3205    

Email: terri.fesmire-kennedy@carteretcountync.gov; tracyb@carteretcountync.gov; dean.lombreglia@carteretcountync.gov; edward.cannon@carteretcountync.gov                                

TOWN OF CAPE CARTERET

102 Dolphin Street

Cape Carteret, NC 28584

LPO-Town Manager: Zachary Steffey

TELEPHONE: (252) 393-8483; FAX: (252) 393-6799

E-mail: zsteffey@capecarteret.org                   

TOWN OF EMERALD ISLE

7500 Emerald Drive

Emerald Isle, NC  28594

LPO: Josh Edmondson

Town Manager: Randy Martin, Interim Manager

TELEPHONE: (252) 354-3338  FAX: (252) 354-5387

Email: jedmondson@emeraldisle-nc.org            

TOWN OF MOREHEAD CITY

706 Arendell St.

Morehead City, NC  28557

LPO: Jeannie Drake (Ext. 138)-Code Enforcement Officer; Sandi Watkins, Planning Director (Ext. 140); Annie Bunnell, Planning & Inspections Asst. (Ext. 125); Robert Davis, Chief Building Inspector (Ext. 143); Kyle Burger, Building Inspector (Ext. 136)   

Town Manager: Ryan Eggleston  Email: Ryan.Eggleston@moreheadcitync.org

TELEPHONE: (252) 726-6848; FAX: (252) 726-2267

Email: jeannie.drake@moreheadcitync.org; sandi.watkins@moreheadcitync.org;

annie.bunnell@moreheadcitync.org; robert.davis@moreheadcitync.org; kyle.burger@moreheadcitync.org              

TOWN OF PINE KNOLL SHORES

100 Municipal Circle

Pine Knoll Shores, NC  28512

LPO: Jim Taylor, Kevin Reed

Town Manager: Brian Kramer

TELEPHONE: (252) 247-4353

FAX: (252) 247-4355

Email: biceo@townofpks.com (Jim Taylor); kreed@townofpks.com                           

COUNTY OF CRAVEN

County Manager: Jack Veit Email: jveit@cravencountync.gov

Planning & Inspections

2828 Neuse Blvd.

New Bern, NC  28560

LPO: Chad Strawn (Asst. Planning Director), Jason Frederick, Donnie LaVelle 

TELEPHONE: (252) 636-6618; FAX: (252) 636-5190

E-mail: cstrawn@cravencountync.gov; jfrederick@cravencountync.gov; dlavelle@cravcencountync.gov;

CITY OF NEW BERN

City Manager: Mark Stephens

Telephone: (252)639-2700      

P. O. Box 1129

New Bern, NC  28563

LPO: Matthew Boswell

TELEPHONE: (252) 639-2941; FAX: (252) 635-4973

Email: BoswellM@newbern-nc.org      

 TOWN OF RIVERBEND

45 Shoreline Drive

River Bend, NC  28562

Town Manager: Delane Jackson

LPO: Allison McCollum; Delane Jackson

Tele: (252) 638-3870 Ext. 216

Email: zoning@riverbendnc.org; manager@riverbendnc.org 

COUNTY OF ONSLOW (North of New River Inlet)

County Manager: David Cotton, Email: David_Cotton@onslowcountync.gov

Onslow County Code Enforcement

234 NW Corridor Blvd.

Jacksonville, NC 28540

LPO: Jennifer Ansell, Gregory (Justin) Smith, Sammie Rogers, David Barnhardt

Central Permitting Supervisor: Ronald Hank Beswetherwik (910) 455-3661

TELEPHONE: (910) 989-3069 (Jennifer); (910) 989-3086 (Gregory); (910) 989-3065 (Sammie);

 FAX: (910) 347-5759

E-mail: gregory_smith@onslowcountync.gov; sammie_rogers@onslowcountync.gov; jennifer_ansell@onslowcountync.gov; ronald_beswetherwik@onslowcountync.gov; David_Barnhardt@onslowcountync.gov                                                                    

CITY OF JACKSONVILLE (above New River Inlet)

City Manager: Dr. Richard Woodruff, Email: citymanager@jacksonvillenc.gov Telephone: Phone: 910 938-5221

P.O. Box 128

Jacksonville, NC 28541-0128

LPO:  Pat Donovan-Potts, Jeanette Hall, Shannon Myers, Peter Rowe

TELEPHONE: (910) 938-6446; FAX: (910) 938-5208

E-mail: pdonovan-potts@ci.jacksonville.nc.us; jhall@ci.jacksonville.nc.us; smyers@ci.jacksonville.nc.us; prowe@ci.jacksonville.nc.us   

 COUNTY OF PAMLICO

County Manager: Tim Buck, Email: tim.buck@pamlicocounty.org

P. O. Box 776

Bayboro, NC  28515

LPO:  Autumn Hardison, Ray Bennett

TELEPHONE: (252) 745-3861; FAX:  (252) 745-7067

Email: autumn.hardison@pamlicocounty.orgray.bennett@pamlicocounty.org

SOUTHERN DISTRICT

DEQ Wilmington Regional Office

Patricia Hay, Office Manager

127 Cardinal Drive Extension, Wilmington, NC 28405-3845

TELEPHONE: (910) 796-7215; FAX (910) 395-3964 (DCM Office) or (910) 350-2004 (DEQ-WiRO)

COURIER:  04-16-33

DISTRICT MANAGER: Debbie Wilson - Telephone (910) 796-7266; E-mail debra.wilson@ncdenr.gov

BEACH & INLET MANAGEMENT COORDINATOR:

Heather Coats - Telephone (910) 796-7302; E-mail heather.coats@ncdenr.gov 

MAJOR PERMITS COORDINATOR:

Courtney Spears - Telephone (910) 796-7426; E-mail courtney.spears@ncdenr.gov

FIELD REPRESENTATIVES:

       Jason Dail - Telephone (910) 796-7221; E-mail jason.dail@ncdenr.gov

       Patrick Amico - Telephone (910) 796-7423; E-mail patrick.amico@ncdenr.gov

       Brooks Surgan - Telephone (910) 796-7270; E-mail brooks.surgan@ncdenr.gov 

       Tyler McGuire - Telephone (910) 796-7424; E-mail tyler.mcguire@ncdenr.gov

       Tara MacPherson - Telephone (910) 796-7425; E-mail tara.macpherson@ncdenr.gov

 

EXPRESS PERMIT COORDINATOR & LPO COORDINATOR (Southern & Central Districts):

       Debbie Wilson - Telephone (910) 796-7266; E-mail  debra.wilson@ncdenr.gov    

DISTRICT PLANNER:

       Mike Christenbury - Telephone (910) 796-7475; E-mail mike.christenbury@ncdenr.gov

PERMIT SUPPORT TECHNICIAN:

       Shaun Simpson (Permit Support / District LPO Assistance)

       Telephone (910)796-7226; shaun.simpson@ncdenr.gov

ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT:

       Tanya Pietila - Telephone (910) 796-7427; E-mail: tanya.pietila@ncdenr.gov

JURISDICTION: [by County, including all Towns within these Counties: Brunswick,

    New Hanover, Onslow (below New River Inlet), Pender]

 

COUNTY OF BRUNSWICK

P. O. Box 249

Bolivia, NC  28422

LPO: Connie Marlowe

TELEPHONE: (910) 253-2034 (or) [800-621-0609]

FAX:(910) 253-2437

E-mail:   connie.marlowe@brunswickcountync.gov    

VILLAGE OF BALD HEAD ISLAND

P. O. Box 3009

Bald Head Island, NC 28461

LPO: Stephen Boyett, Jeff Griffin, Chris McCall

TELEPHONE: (910) 457-9700 & (910) 457-6255; FAX: (910) 457-6206

Email: sboyett@villagebhi.org; jgriffin@villagehgi.org; mccall@villagebhi.org

TOWN OF CALABASH

882 Persimmon Rd.

Calabash, NC  28467               

LPO: George Mabes

TELEPHONE: (910-398-0152, FAX: (910) 579-5495

E-Mail: ficalabash@atmc.net   

CASWELL BEACH-Town Hall (910) 278-5471         

Permits issued by Tara MacPherson: Wilmington DCM Office (910) 796-7425

TOWN OF HOLDEN BEACH

110 Rothschild Street

Holden Beach, NC  28462

LPO: Rhonda Wooten, E-mail:  rwooten@hbtownhall.com

TELEPHONE: (910) 842-6080; FAX: (910) 842-7003

TOWN OF OAK ISLAND

4601 E. Oak Island Dr.

Oak Island, NC  28465

LPO:  Donna Coleman, Steve Edwards, Julie Edge

TELEPHONE: (910) 278-5024; FAX: (910) 278-1811

E-Mail: dcoleman@ci.oak-island.nc.us; sedwards@ci.oak-island.nc.us; jedge@ci.oak-island.nc.us 

 TOWN OF OCEAN ISLE BEACH

Ocean Isle Beach Town Hall

3 West Third Street

Ocean Isle Beach, NC  28469

LPO:  Keith Dycus, Justin Whiteside, Larry Cook,

TELEPHONE: (910) 579-3469 FAX: (910) 579-2940

E-mail:  keith@oibgov.com; justin@oibgov.com; larryc@oibgov.com;          

TOWN OF SHALLOTTE-Town Hall (910) 754-4032

Permits issued by Tyler McGuire: Wilmington DCM Office (910) 796-7424

CITY OF SOUTHPORT      

1029 N. Howe Street, Suite 100

Southport, NC  28461

LPO:  Wayne Strickland, Thomas Lloyd, Planner

TELEPHONE: (910) 457-7925; FAX: (910) 457-7957

Email:  Wayne_Strickland@southportnc.org; Thomas_Lloyd@southportnc.org

TOWN OF SUNSET BEACH

700 Sunset Blvd. N.

Sunset Beach, NC  28468

LPO:  Hiram Marziano

TELEPHONE: (910) 579-6297; FAX: (910) 579-1840

E-mail: hmarziano@sunsetbeachnc.gov

COUNTY OF NEW HANOVER

Planning and Land Use Department

230 Government Center Dr., Suite 110

Wilmington, NC  28403

LPO: Ken Vafier, Christine Bouffard, Linda Painter, Darrell Galloway   

TELEPHONE: (910) 798-7118 x2; FAX: (910) 798-7053

E-mail  cbouffard@nhcgov.comlpainter@nhcgov.com; dgalloway@nhcgov.com;

TOWN OF CAROLINA BEACH                

1121 N. Lake Park Boulevard

Carolina Beach, NC  28428

LPO: Jeremy Hardison, Miles Murphy

TELEPHONE: (910) 458-2991; 458-2978 (Planning Dept.); FAX: (910) 458-2997

E-mail:  jeremy.hardison@carolinabeach.org; miles.murphy@carolinabeach.org

TOWN OF KURE BEACH

117 Settlers Lane

Kure Beach, NC  28449

LPO:  John J. Batson                                         

Administrative Assistant: Kathleen Zielinski

TELEPHONE: (910) 458-6535; FAX: (910) 458-4269

E-mail: j.batson@townofkurebeach.org; k.zielinski@townofkurebeach.org       

TOWN OF WRIGHTSVILLE BEACH

P.O. Box 626

Wrightsville Beach, NC  28480

LPO: Danielle Villegas, Tony Wilson, Trevor Welsh

TELEPHONE: (910) 256-7937; FAX: (910) 256-6848

E-mail: dvillegas@towb.org; twilson@towb.org, twelsh@towb.org

COUNTY OF ONSLOW (South of New River Inlet)

234 NW Corridor Blvd.

Jacksonville, NC  28540              

LPO: Jennifer Ansell, Gregory Smith “Justin”, Sammie Rogers, David Barnhardt 

TELEPHONE: (910) 989-3069 (Jennifer); (910) 989-3075, (Justin); (910) 989-3065 (Sammie

(910) 989-3078 (David)

FAX: (910) 347-5759

E-mail: jennifer_ansell@onslowcountync.gov; gregory_smith@onslowcountync.gov;                               sammie_rogers@onslowcountync.gov;                                       david_barnhardt@onslowcountync.gov

CITY OF JACKSONVILLE (below New River)

P.O. Box 128

Jacksonville, NC 28541-0128 

LPO:  Pat Donovan-Brandenburg, Andrew Bourland

TELEPHONE: (910) 938-6446 (Pat), 938-5017 (Andrew); FAX: (910) 938-5208

E-mail: pdonavan-brandenburg@jacksonvillenc.gov; abourland@jacksonvillenc.gov;

Below areas covered by Jason Dail, Wilmington DCM Office (910) 796-7221                                                                       

TOWN OF HOLLY RIDGE: Town Hall (910) 329-7081

TOWN OF SURF CITY: Town Hall (910) 328-4131

TOWN OF TOPSAIL BEACH: Town Hall (910) 328-5841                                                    

TOWN OF NORTH TOPSAIL BEACH: Town Hall (910) 328-1349

COUNTY OF PENDER: Inspections Dept. (910) 259-1202

LPO for the above: Jason Dail, Wilmington DCM Office (910) 796-7221