Environmental Management Commission

The Environmental Management Commission is a 15-member commission appointed by the Governor, the Senate Pro Tempore and the Speaker of the House. The Commission is responsible for adopting rules for the protection, preservation, and enhancement of the state's air and water resources. Commission members are chosen to represent various interests, including the medical profession, agriculture, engineering, fish and wildlife, groundwater, air, and water pollution control, municipal or county government and the public at large. The Commission oversees and adopts rules for several divisions of the Department of Environmental Quality, including the Divisions of Air Quality, Land Resources, Water Quality, and Water Resources.

The Environmental Management Commission generally meets on the second Thursday of January, March, May, July, September, and November.  In addition, the Commission Chairman may call special meetings as necessary. The EMC has six committees (Air Quality, Groundwater & Waste Management, NPDES, Water Allocation, Water Quality, and Civil Penalty Remissions), which generally meet on the day before full commission meetings, with the exception of the Civil Penalty Remissions on full commission days. See the agendas, including scheduled locations, dates and times of meetings.


January 13, 2021 Environment Management Commission - Committee Meetings (Meeting agendas are available at https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-resources-commi...)

Web Conferencing link for attendees:  https://ncdenrits.webex.com/ncdenrits/onstage/g.php?MTID=e649815427c59f3...   

Date and time:  Wednesday, January 13, 2021 9:00 am Eastern Standard Time (New York, GMT-05:00)

Event number:  178 762 2026

Event password:  NUmrUpWA996

Audio conference: US TOLL +1-415-655-0003 Access code: 178 762 2026

January 14, 2021 Environmental Management Commission Meeting (Meeting agenda is available at https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-resources-commi...)

Web Conferencing link for attendees:  https://ncdenrits.webex.com/ncdenrits/onstage/g.php?MTID=e152e5c36cb95c4...

Date and time:  Thursday, January 14, 2021 9:00 am Eastern Standard Time (New York, GMT-05:00)

Event number:  178 412 9537

Event password:  hDQr8mcQG95

Audio conference: US TOLL +1-415-655-0003 Access code: 178 412 9537


To receive emails concerning when EMC meetings will occur, send a blank email to:

For information regarding the committees please contact:

Air Quality Committee

Patrick Knowlson

(919) 707-8711

Groundwater & Waste Mgmt Committee

Mary Johnson

(919) 707-8236

NPDES Committee

Julie Grzyb

(919) 707-9147

Water Allocation Committee (Water Allocation Committee)(link is external)

Kim Nimmer

(919) 707-9019

Water Quality Committee

Adriene Weaver

(919) 707-3692


For more information regarding the Environmental Management Commission, please contact:

Lois Thomas
EMC Recording Clerk
Directors Office
Division of Water Resources 
1617 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1617

Phone: (919) 707-9023
Fax:   (919) 733-3558

Mailing Address:

1617 Mail Service Center
512 North Salisbury Street
Raleigh, NC 27699-1617